Data visualization | vis.zone

Graph Function / Correlation

An exploded view drawing is a diagram, picture or technical drawing of an object, that shows the relationship or order of assembly of various parts. It shows the components of an object slightly separated by distance, or suspended in surrounding space in the case of a three-dimensional exploded diagram. An object is represented as if there had been a small controlled explosion emanating from the middle of the object, causing the object’s parts to be separated an equal distance away from their original locations.

Exploded View Drawing

A heat map is a data visualization type where the individual values contained in a matrix through variations in coloring. The term “Heat map” was originally introduced by software designer Cormac Kinney in 1991 to describe a 2D display depicting real time financial market information even though similar visualizations have existed for over a century.
Heat maps are useful for visualizing variance across multiple variables to display patterns in correlations
Fractal maps and tree maps both often use a similar system of color-coding to represent the values taken by a variable in a hierarchy. The term is also used to mean its thematic application as a choropleth map. 
Many also incorrectly refers to heat maps as Choropleth maps – properly because of the misleading term ‘map’. But a choropleth maps include different shading or patterns within geographic boundaries to show the proportion of a variable of interest, whereas the coloration a heat map does not correspond to geographic boundaries.

Heat Map

A Venn diagram or set diagram is a diagram that shows all possible logical relations between a finite collection of sets. Venn diagrams were conceived around 1880 by John Venn. They are used to teach elementary set theory, as well as illustrate simple set relationships in probability, logic, statistics, linguistics and computer science.

Venn Diagram

A flowchart is a type of chart that represents a process or a workflow. It shows the steps as boxes of various kinds, and their order by connecting them with arrows. This diagrammatic representation illustrates a solution model to a given problem. Flowcharts are used in analyzing, designing, documenting or managing a process or program in various fields.

There are a wide variety of flowchart types. Some of the most common ones are swimlane flow charts, Workflow diagrams and dataflow diagrams.

Flow Chart

Flow Maps in cartography can be defined as a mix of maps and Sankey diagrams, that show the movement of quantities from one location to another, such as the number of people travelling, the amount of goods being traded, or the number of packets in a network.
The width of the connections shows the quantity. Sometimes you flow maps with arrows to display the direction of the movement.
The most famous example of a flow map, is Minard’s map of Napoleon’s disastrous Russian campaign of 1812.

Flow Map

An Arc Diagram uses a one-dimensional layout of nodes with circular arcs to represent connections. Nodes are placed along a single line and arcs are used to display links between the nodes. The thickness of the lines can display frequency between the nodes.
The Arc Diagram can have a similar purpose as the Chord Diagram and the Network Visualisation. But it may not be as effective to show structure in two dimensions as it serves the purpose to easy identify correlation.

Arc Diagram

Multi-level Donut charts are a set of concentric circles which is used to visualize hierarchical relationships. The size of each item represents its contribution to the inner parent category. It starts with a single item that is put as a circle in the center. This is the root node. A concentric ring is set around this central circle to see the breakup of that item. The concentric ring is then segmented to show how various child items have contributed to the parent item.

Multi-level Donut Chart

A mind map is a diagram used to visually organise information. A mind map is often created around a single concept, drawn as an image in the center of a blank landscape page, to which associated representations of ideas such as images, words and parts of words are added. Major ideas are connected directly to the central concept, and other ideas branch out from those.

Mind Map

A trendline is a line that is drawn over pivot highs or under pivot lows to show the general course or tendency of something. Trendlines are a visual representation of support and resistance in any time frame.

Trendline

The multi-level pie chart is a special type of chart that allows you to show symmetrical/asymmetrical tree structures in a consolidated pie-like structure.
Though similar, the multilevel piechart should not be confused with the multi-level donut chart, as it contains no connected hierarchy and tree structure, but only displays independant donut rings for comparison.

Multi-level Pie Chart

Connection Map is used to display network combined with geographical data. It can be used for visualising flight connections, flow of import/export or migration, any kind of connections between different locations. By combining thickness, colour, or pattern to the lines or adding another type of visualisation (for example, bar chart or dot plot), you can add numeric values to Connection Map. It is related to a Flow Map but display no quantitative values between the connections.

Connection Map

A SWOT analysis (alternatively SWOT matrix) is a structured planning method used to evaluate the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats. It is commonly used in business plan arrangement and / or in companies start-up to testify the strenght of a project or a potential business.

SWOT Analysis

Fishbone Diagrams are causal diagrams that show the causes of a specific event. Common uses of the Fishbone Diagram are product design and quality defect prevention, to identify potential factors causing an overall effect. Each cause or reason for imperfection is a source of variation. Causes are usually grouped into major categories to identify these sources of variation.

Fishbone Diagram

A hyperbolic tree defines a graph drawing method inspired by hyperbolic geometry.

Displaying hierarchical data as a tree suffers from visual clutter as the number of nodes per level can grow exponentially. For a simple binary tree, the maximum number of nodes at a level n is 2n, while the number of nodes for larger trees grows much more quickly. 
Drawing the tree as a node-link diagram thus requires exponential amounts of space to be displayed.

Hyperbolic Tree

The hive plot is a rational visualization method for drawing networks. Nodes are mapped to and positioned on radially distributed linear axes — this mapping is based on network structural properties. Edges are drawn as curved links. Simple and interpretable.
The purpose of the hive plot is to establish a new baseline for visualization of large networks — a method that is both general and tunable and useful as a starting point in visually exploring network structure.

Hive Plot

Parallel Sets are a new method for the visualization and interactive exploration of categorical data that shows data frequencies instead of the individual data points. The method is based on the axis layout of parallel coordinates, with boxes representing the categories and parallelograms between the axes showing the relations between categories.

Parallel Sets

A Sociogram is a graphic representation of social links that a person has. It is a graph drawing that plots the structure of interpersonal relations in a group situation. A sociogram can be drawn on the basis of many different criteria: Social relations, channels of influence, lines of communication etc.

Sociogram

A scatter plot is a type of mathematical diagram using Cartesian coordinates to display values for two variables for a set of data. The data is displayed as a collection of points, each having the value of one variable determining the position on the horizontal axis and the value of the other variable determining the position on the vertical axis.

Scatter Plot

An Euler Diagram is a diagrammatic means of representing sets and their relationships. They are closely related to Venn diagrams. Euler Diagrams consist of simple closed curves (usually circles) in the plane that depict sets. The sizes or shapes of the curves are not important: the significance of the diagram is in how they overlap. The spatial relationships between the regions bounded by each curve (overlap, containment or neither) corresponds to set-theoretic relationships (intersection, subset and disjointness).

Euler Diagram

A Partition Layer Chart is a graphical display of clustering results, so called because it resembles a row of icicles hanging from the eaves of a house.

Partition Layer Chart Icicle Diagram

A dendrogram is a tree diagram frequently used to illustrate the arrangement of the clusters produced by hierarchical clustering. Dendrograms are often used in computational biology to illustrate the clustering of genes or samples, sometimes on top of heatmaps.

Dendrogram

A fan chart,  is a chart representing family relationships in a tree structure. It features a half circle chart with concentric rings: the person of interest is the inner circle, the second circle is divided in two (each side is one parent), the third circle is divided in four, and so forth. Fan charts depict paternal and maternal ancestors.

Fan Chart (Geneaology)

Sankey diagrams are a specific type of flow diagram, in which the width of the arrows is shown proportionally to the flow quantity. They are typically used to visualize energy or material or cost transfers between processes. They can also visualize the energy accounts or material flow accounts on a community level. Sankey diagrams put a visual emphasis on the major transfers or flows within a system. They are helpful in locating dominant contributions to an overall flow.

Sankey Diagram

A spiral heat map is a specific type of heat map designed for continuous comparable cycles like years or days. The spiral design makes it possible to compare the cycles, but keeping the continuous timeline along the spiral.

Spiral Heat Map

Network Visualisation (also called Network Graph) is often used to visualise complex relationships between a huge amount of elements. A network visualisation displays undirected and directed graph structures. This type of visualization illuminates relationships between entities. Entities are displayed as round nodes and lines show the relationships between them. The vivid display of network nodes can highlight non-trivial data discrepancies that may be otherwise be overlooked.

Network Visualisation

Dumbbell dot plots — dot plots with two or more series of data — are an alternative to the clustered bar chart or slope chart.
A dumbbell dot plot can be used to visualize two or three different points in time, or to triangulate different viewpoints (e.g., one dot for Republicans and another dot for Democrats, or one dot for principals and another dot for teachers).

Dumbbell Plot

A radial heat map is a variation of heat map, where the table is aligned radially. A heat map is a graphical representation of data where the individual values contained in a matrix are represented as colors. Fractal maps and tree maps both often use a similar system of color-coding to represent the values taken by a variable in a hierarchy. The term is also used to mean its thematic application as a choropleth map. The term “Heatmap” was originally coined and trademarked by software designer Cormac Kinney in 1991, to describe a 2D display depicting real time financial market information.

Circular Heat Map

Alluvial diagrams are a type of flow diagram originally developed to represent changes in network structure over time. In allusion to both their visual appearance and their emphasis on flow, alluvial diagrams are named after alluvial fans that are naturally formed by the soil deposited from streaming water.
Variables are assigned to vertical axes that are parallel. Values are represented with blocks on each axis. The height of a block represents the size of the cluster and the height of a stream field represents the size of the components contained in both blocks connected by the stream field.
Alluvial diagram is a variant of the Parallel Sets but for categorical variables and often to display trends over time and phases.

Alluvial Diagram

Taylor diagrams (Taylor, 2001) provide a way of graphically summarizing how closely a pattern (or a set of patterns) matches observations. The similarity between two patterns is quantified in terms of their correlation, their centered root-mean-square difference and the amplitude of their variations (represented by their standard deviations). These diagrams are especially useful in evaluating multiple aspects of complex models or in gauging the relative skill of many different models (e.g., IPCC, 2001).

Taylor diagram

A three-dimensional scatter plot is like a scatter plot, but with g three variables.Provided that x, y, and z or f(x, y) are real numbers, the graph can be represented as dots in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system. It is typically drawn on a two-dimensional page or screen using perspective methods (isometric or perspective),  so that one of the dimensions appears to be coming out of the page.

3D Scatter Plot

A chord diagram is a graphical method of displaying the inter-relationships between data in a matrix. The data is arranged radially around a circle with the relationships between the points typically drawn as arcs connecting the data together.

Chord Diagram

Hexagonal Binning is another way to manage the problem of having to many points that start to overlap. Hexagonal binning plots density, rather than points. Points are binned into gridded hexagons and distribution (the number of points per hexagon) is displayed using either the color or the area of the hexagons.This technique was first described in 1987 (D.B.Carr et al. Scatterplot Matrix Techniques for large N, Journal of the American Statistical Association, No.389 pp 424-436).
There are many reasons for using hexagons instead of squares for binning a 2D surface as a plane. The most evident is that hexagons are more similar to circle than square. This translates in more efficient data aggregation around the bin center. This can be seen by looking at some particular properties of hexagons and, especially, of the hexagonal tessellation.

Hexagonal Binning

A bagplot is a method in robust statistics for visualizing two-dimensional statistical data. The bagplot allows one to visualize the location, spread, skewness, and outliers of the data set. The bagplot consists of three nested polygons, called the “bag”, the “fence”, and the “loop”. The bagplot is sometimes defined as the multidimensional (bivariate) version of the box plot.

Bagplot

A ternary plot is a barycentric plot on three variables which sum to a constant. It graphically depicts the ratios of the three variables as positions in an equilateral triangle. It is used in physical chemistry, petrology, mineralogy, metallurgy, and other physical sciences to show the compositions of systems composed of three species.

Ternary Plot

A three-dimensional Stream Graph is the graph of a function f(x, y) of two variables, or the graph of a relationship g(x, y, z) among three variables.Provided that x, y, and z or f(x, y) are real numbers, the graph can be represented as a planar or curved surface in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system. A three-dimensional graph is typically drawn on a two-dimensional page or screen using perspective methods, so that one of the dimensions appears to be coming out of the page.

Three-dimensional Stream Graph

Kagi charts look similar to swing charts and do not have a time axis. A Kagi chart is created with a series of vertical lines connected by short horizontal lines. The Kagi chart is a chart used for tracking price movements and to make decisions on purchasing stock. It differs from traditional stock charts, such as the Candlestick chart by being mostly independent of time. This feature aids in producing a chart that reduces random noise.

Kagi Chart

Radial Convergences are used to visualize relationships between entities. Entities are displayed as round nodes and lines show the relationships between them. It is similar to a network visualization but it is arranged in strict circular layout.

Radial Convergences

数据可视化 | vis.zone

主要功能 / 相关性分析

分解图是对象的示意图、图片或技术图,它显示了各个部件的装配关系或顺序。它显示了一个物体的部件,在三维分解图的情况下,这些部件稍微分开了距离,或者悬浮在周围的空间中。对象被表示为好像从对象的中间发出了一次小型受控爆炸,导致对象的各部分与其原始位置等距离地分开。

分解视图

热图是一种数据可视化类型,其中包含在矩阵中的各个值通过不同的颜色显示。术语“热点图”最初是由软件设计师Cormac Kinney在1991年引入的,用来描述2D显示,描述实时金融市场信息,尽管类似的可视化已经存在了一个多世纪。
热图可用于可视化多个变量之间的方差,以显示相关模式
分形映射和树形映射通常都使用相似的颜色编码系统来表示层次结构中变量所取的值。这个词也被用来表示它的主题应用,如科洛普斯地图。
许多人还错误地将热图称为大合唱地图,因为“地图”这个词具有误导性。但是,热图在地理边界内包括不同的阴影或图案,以显示感兴趣变量的比例,而热图的着色并不对应于地理边界。

热图

维恩图或集合图是显示有限集合之间所有可能的逻辑关系的图。维恩图是约翰·维恩在1880年左右构思出来的。它们被用来教授基本集合论,以及说明概率、逻辑、统计学、语言学和计算机科学中的简单集合关系。

维恩图

流程图是一种表示流程或工作流程的图表。它将步骤显示为各种类型的方框,并通过箭头将它们连接起来。此图表示说明了给定问题的解决方案模型。流程图用于分析、设计、记录或管理各个领域的过程或程序。

流程图的类型五花八门。其中一些最常见的是泳道流程图、工作流程图和数据流程图。

流程图

地图学中的流程图可以定义为地图和Sankey图的混合,这些图显示了数量从一个位置到另一个位置的移动,如出行人数、正在交易的货物数量或网络中的数据包数量。
连接的宽度显示了最大数量。有时,您可以使用箭头排列地图以显示移动的方向。
流程图最著名的例子是米纳德的1812年拿破仑灾难性的俄国战役的地图。

流动图

弧形图使用带有圆弧的节点的一维布局来表示连接。节点沿一条线放置,圆弧用于显示节点之间的链接。线条的粗细可以显示节点之间的频率。
弧形图可以与弦图和网络可视化具有类似的用途。但是,在两个维度上展示结构可能没有容易识别相关性的目的那么有效。

弧形图

多级圆环图是一组同心圆,用于可视化层次关系。每一项的大小表示其对内部父类别的贡献。它以一个圆圈放在中心的单个项目开始。这是根节点。在这个中心圆周围设置了一个同心圆,以查看该项目的分解情况。然后对同心圆环进行分段,以显示各种子项如何促成父项。

多层环图

思维导图是一种用于可视化组织信息的图表。思维导图通常是围绕单个概念创建的,该概念作为图像绘制在空白风景页面的中心,并将图像、单词和单词部分等概念的关联表示添加到该概念中。主要思想直接与中心概念联系在一起,其他思想则是从中心概念派生出来的。

思维导图

趋势线是在轴心高点上方或轴心低点下方绘制的一条线,用来显示某事的大致进程或趋势。趋势线是任何时间范围内支撑位和阻力位的直观表示。

趋势线

多级饼图是一种特殊类型的图表,允许您在合并的饼状结构中显示对称/不对称的树结构。
虽然类似,但不应将多级碎片图与多级甜甜圈图混淆,因为它不包含连接的层次和树结构,而只显示独立的甜甜圈环以供比较。

多级饼图

连接图用于结合地理数据显示网络。它可用于可视化航班转机、导入/导出或迁移流程,以及不同地点之间的任何类型的连接。通过将粗细、颜色或图案组合到线条或添加其他类型的可视化效果(例如,条形图或点图),您可以向连接地图添加数值。它与流程图相关,但在连接之间不显示任何量化值。

连接映射

SWOT分析(或者SWOT矩阵)是一种结构化的规划方法,用于评估优势、劣势、机会和威胁。它通常用于商业计划编制和/或公司初创阶段,以证明一个项目或潜在业务的实力。

SWOT分析

鱼骨图是显示特定事件原因的因果图。鱼骨图的常见用途是产品设计和质量缺陷预防,以确定导致整体影响的潜在因素。每一个不完美的原因都是变异的根源。原因通常被分成主要类别,以确定这些差异的来源。

鱼骨图

双曲树定义了一种受双曲几何启发的图形绘制方法。

将分层数据显示为树会受到视觉混乱的影响,因为每个级别的节点数可能会呈指数级增长。对于简单的二叉树,级别n的最大节点数是2n,而较大树的节点数增长要快得多。
因此,将树绘制为节点链接图需要显示指数量的空间。

双曲树图

蜂窝图是绘制网络的一种合理的可视化方法。将节点映射到径向分布的线性轴并将其定位在其上-此映射基于网络结构属性。边绘制为曲线连接。简单易懂。
蜂窝图的目的是为大型网络的可视化建立新的基线-一种既通用又可调的方法,作为直观探索网络结构的起点很有用。

蜂窝图

并行集是一种用于分类数据可视化和交互探索的新方法,它显示的是数据频率而不是单个数据点。该方法基于平行坐标的轴线布局,用方框表示类别,轴之间的平行四边形表示类别之间的关系。

平行集

社会图是一个人拥有的社会关系的图形表示。它是一种图表,描绘了群体情境中的人际关系结构。社会图可以根据许多不同的标准绘制:社会关系、影响渠道、沟通渠道等。

社交图

散点图是一种使用笛卡尔坐标显示一组数据的两个变量的值的数学图表。数据被显示为点的集合,每个点具有确定在水平轴上的位置的一个变量的值和确定在垂直轴上的位置的另一个变量的值。

散点图

欧拉图是表示集合及其关系的图形化方法。它们与维恩图密切相关。欧拉图由平面上描述集合的简单闭合曲线(通常是圆)组成。曲线的大小或形状并不重要:图表的意义在于它们如何重叠。由每条曲线限定的区域之间的空间关系(重叠、包容或两者都不)对应于集合论关系(相交、子集和不相交)。

欧拉图

分区层图表是聚类结果的图形显示,之所以称为分区层图表,是因为它类似于悬挂在房屋屋檐上的一排冰柱。

分区分层柱图

树状图是经常用于说明由分层聚类产生的簇的排列的树形图。树状图在计算生物学中经常被用来说明基因或样本的聚类,有时是在热图之上。

系统树形图

扇形图,是以树形结构表示家庭关系的图表。它还有一个带有同心环的半圆形图表:感兴趣的人是内圈,第二个圆圈被分成两个(每边都是一个家长),第三个圆圈被分成四个,依此类推。粉丝排行榜描绘了父辈和母辈的祖先。

扇形图

桑基图是一种特定类型的流程图,其中箭头的宽度与流量成比例显示。它们通常用于可视化过程之间的能量、材料或成本转移。他们还可以在社区层面上可视化能源账户或物质流账户。桑基图直观地强调了系统内的主要转移或流动。它们有助于确定对整个流程的主要贡献。

桑基图

螺旋热图是一种特定类型的热图,专为连续的可比较周期(如年或天)而设计。螺旋设计使比较周期成为可能,但保持沿螺旋的连续时间线。

螺旋热图

网络可视化(也称为网络图)通常用于可视化海量元素之间的复杂关系。网络可视化显示无向和有向图结构。这种类型的可视化说明了实体之间的关系。实体显示为圆形节点,线条显示它们之间的关系。网络节点的生动显示可以突出否则可能被忽略的不平凡的数据差异。

网络可视化

哑铃形点图-具有两个或两个以上数据系列的点图-是一种替代传统的聚类条形图或斜率图的方法。
哑铃形点图可用于显示两个或三个不同的时间点,或对不同的视点进行三角测量(例如,一个点代表共和党人,另一个点代表民主党人,或者一个点代表校长,另一个点代表教师)。

哑铃线

径向热图是热图的变体,其中表是径向对齐的。热图是数据的图形表示,其中矩阵中包含的各个值以颜色表示。分形映射和树形映射通常都使用相似的颜色编码系统来表示层次结构中变量所取的值。这一术语也被用来表示其主题应用,如全息地图。术语“热点图”最初是由软件设计师Cormac Kinney在1991年创造并注册商标的,用来描述描绘实时金融市场信息的2D显示。

圆形热图

冲积图是一种流程图,最初开发的目的是表示网络结构随时间的变化。冲积图以流水沉积的土壤自然形成的冲积扇命名,既有直观的外观,又有对流动的强调。
变量被指定给平行的垂直轴。值由每个轴上的块表示。挡路的高度表示簇的大小,流场的高度表示由流场连接的两个块中包含的组件的大小。
冲积图是两个平行集合的变体,但用于分类变量,并经常显示随时间和阶段的趋势。

冲积图

泰勒图(Taylor,2001)提供了一种以图形方式总结一个模式(或一组模式)与观测结果匹配程度的方法。两个模式之间的相似性通过它们的相关性、它们的中心均方根差和它们的变化幅度(由它们的标准差表示)来量化。这些图表在评估复杂模型的多个方面或衡量许多不同模型的相对技能时特别有用(例如,IPCC,2001)。

泰勒图

三维散点图类似于散点图,但具有三个变量,假设x,y,z或f(x,y)为实数,则该图可以表示为三维笛卡尔坐标系中的点。它通常使用透视方法(等轴测或透视)绘制在二维页面或屏幕上,因此其中一个维度似乎是从页面中出来的。

三维散点图

弦图是一种显示矩阵中数据之间相互关系的图形化方法。数据围绕一个圆呈放射状排列,点之间的关系通常绘制为将数据连接在一起的圆弧。

弦图

六边形入库是管理许多开始重叠的点问题的另一种方法。六边形装箱图的密度,而不是点。点被放入网格的六边形中,并且使用六边形的颜色或面积来显示分布(每个六边形的点数)。该技术于1987年首次描述(D.B.Carr等人)。大N的散点图矩阵技术,美国统计协会杂志,第389页,第424-436页)。
使用六边形而不是正方形将二维曲面绑定为平面的原因有很多。最明显的是六边形与其说是正方形,不如说是圆形。这可以转化为围绕仓位中心更有效的数据聚合。这可以通过观察六边形的一些特殊属性,特别是六边形镶嵌的一些特殊属性来看出。

六边形分档图

袋图是稳健统计中的一种方法,用于可视化二维统计数据。袋图使人们可以直观地看到数据集的位置、扩散、偏度和离群值。袋子图由三个嵌套多边形组成,分别称为“袋子”、“栅栏”和“环”。袋图有时被定义为盒子图的多维(二维)版本。

布袋

三元图是关于三个变量的重心图,它们之和为一个常数。它以图形方式将三个变量的比率描绘为等边三角形中的位置。它在物理化学、岩石学、矿物学、冶金和其他物理科学中被用来显示由三个物种组成的系统的组成。

三元曲线图

三维流图是两个变量的函数f(x,y)的图形,或者是三个变量之间的关系g(x,y,z)的图形,只要x,y和z或f(x,y)是实数,则该图形可以表示为三维笛卡尔坐标系中的平面或曲面。三维图形通常是使用透视方法在二维页面或屏幕上绘制的,因此其中一个维度似乎是从页面中出来的。

三维流图

KAGI图看起来类似于摆动图,没有时间轴。Kagi图是由一系列由短水平线连接的垂直线创建的。卡吉图是一种用来跟踪价格走势和做出购买股票决定的图表。它与传统的股票图表(如烛台图表)的不同之处在于它基本上不依赖于时间。此功能有助于生成减少随机噪声的图表。

Kagi图表

径向收敛用于可视化实体之间的关系。图元显示为圆形节点,线条显示它们之间的关系。它类似于网络可视化,但它是以严格的圆形布局排列的。

径向收敛

扫码体验小程序