Data visualization | vis.zone

Graph Function / Trend over time

A line chart or line graph is a type of chart which displays information as a series of data points called ‘markers’ connected by straight line segments.
It is similar to a scatter plot except that the measurement points are ordered (typically by their x-axis value) and joined with straight line segments. Line Charts show how a particular data changes at equal intervals of time.
A line chart is similar to the spline graph, but the spline graph draws a curved line between the points instead of the straight lines.

Line Graph

A bar chart is a chart with rectangular bars with lengths proportional to the values that they represent.  One axis of the chart shows the specific categories being compared, and the other axis represents a discrete value.
Bar charts provide a visual presentation of categorical data. Categorical data is a grouping of data into discrete groups, such as months of the year, age group, shoe sizes, and animals. These categories are usually qualitative. Bars on the chart may be arranged in any order.
See also: Horizontal bar chart

Bar Chart (vertical)

An Area Chart or area graph are basically a line graph with the area below the lined filled with colors or textures. Like line graphs area charts are  used to represent the development of quantitative values over a time period. It can also be used to compare two or more categories and is similar to the Stacked Area Chart.
Area charts often used to show overall trends over time rather than specific values.

Area Chart

A compound data vizulisation type, combining a scaled timeline with an area chart, a line graph or similar to show the development. It is useful to explain big changes in the development with events or causes. The events are typically visualized with labels anchored to the timeline.

Development & Causes

A heat map is a data visualization type where the individual values contained in a matrix through variations in coloring. The term “Heat map” was originally introduced by software designer Cormac Kinney in 1991 to describe a 2D display depicting real time financial market information even though similar visualizations have existed for over a century.
Heat maps are useful for visualizing variance across multiple variables to display patterns in correlations
Fractal maps and tree maps both often use a similar system of color-coding to represent the values taken by a variable in a hierarchy. The term is also used to mean its thematic application as a choropleth map. 
Many also incorrectly refers to heat maps as Choropleth maps – properly because of the misleading term ‘map’. But a choropleth maps include different shading or patterns within geographic boundaries to show the proportion of a variable of interest, whereas the coloration a heat map does not correspond to geographic boundaries.

Heat Map

A funnel chart is used to show streamlined data; each slice in the funnel represents a process that has filtered out data. The last funnel bears the value that is the final result of the entire procedure.
A funnel chart displays values as progressively decreasing proportions amounting to 100 percent in total. The size of the area is determined by the series value as a percentage of the total of all values. Any funnel consists of the higher part called head (or base) and the lower part referred to as neck.
Ideally, the funnel chart shows a process that starts at 100% and ends with a lower percentage where it is noticeable in what stages the fall out happens and at what rate. If the chart is also combined with research data, meaning quantified measurements of just how many items are lost at each step of the sales or order fulfillment process, then the funnel chart illustrates where the biggest bottlenecks are in the process.

Funnel Chart

A Timeline displays a list of events in chronological order. Some timelines work on a scale, while others simply display events in sequence. The main purpose is to communicate time-related information, over time, either for analysis or to visually present a story or view of history.

Timeline

In function it is identical to a normal bar chart. But visually it consists of a line anchored from the x axis and a dot at the end to mark the value.
The lollipop chart is often claimed to be useful compared to a normal bar chart, if you are dealing with a large number of values and when the values are all high, such as in the 80-90% range (out of 100%). Then a large set of tall columns can be visually aggressive.
The chart also has some less fortunate features:
The center of the circle at the end of the lollipop marks the value, but the location of the center is difficult to judge, making it imprecise compared to the straight edge of a bar, and half of the circle extends beyond the value that it represents, making it inaccurate.
Related chart types includes the dumbbell plot which focus on the span between two values, by highlighting the difference.

Lollipop Chart

A sparkline is a small intense, simple, word-sized graphic with typographic resolution. Sparklines mean that graphics are no longer cartoonish special occasions with captions and boxes, but rather sparkline graphics can be everywhere a word or number can be: embedded in a sentence, table, headline, map, spreadsheet, graphic. Data graphics should have the resolution of typography. (Edward Tufte, Beautiful Evidence, 46-63.)

Sparkline

The Spline chart type is a Line graph that plots a fitted curve through each data point in a series. Line Charts show how a particular data changes at equal intervals of time.

Spline Graph

A Sparkline is a small intense, simple, word-sized graphic with typographic resolution. Sparklines mean that graphics are no longer cartoonish special occasions with captions and boxes, but rather sparkline graphics can be everywhere a word or number can be: embedded in a sentence, table, headline, map, spreadsheet, graphic. Data graphics should have the resolution of typography. (Edward Tufte, Beautiful Evidence, 46-63.)
A Column Sparkline is basically same as the classic sparkline, except that it uses columns/bars instead of lines.

Column Sparkline

A timeline displays a list of events in chronological order. In scaled timeline, events are placed on a scale according to actual time distance between events. The main purpose is to communicate time-related information, over time, either for analysis or to visually present a story or view of history.

Scaled Timeline

Comparing the distribution of data with a theoretical distribution from an ordinary histogram can be difficult because small frequencies are dominated by the larger frequencies and it is hard to perceive the pattern of differences between the histogram bars and the curve. Therefore John Tukey introduced the Hanging Rootogram in 1971 (also called Tukey’s Hanging Rootogram) in order to solve these problems. In this visualization the comparison is made easier by ‘hanging’ the observed results from the theoretical curve, so that the discrepancies are seen by comparison with the horizontal axis rather than a sloping curve. As in the rootogram, the vertical axis is scaled to the square-root of the frequencies so as to draw attention to discrepancies in the tails of the distribution.
 
It is a variation of the concept of histograms and Pareto charts by combining observed and predicted in a simple way where the line charts display that the data is continuously changing.

Hanging Rootogram

A bubble chart is a type of chart that displays three dimensions of data. Each entity with its triplet (v1, v2, v3) of associated data is plotted as a disk that expresses two of the vi values through the disk’s xy location and the third through its size. Bubble charts can facilitate the understanding of social, economical, medical, and other scientific relationships. Bubble charts can be considered a variation of the scatter plot, in which the data points are replaced with bubbles.

Bubble Chart

It can be helpful to plot multiple datasets using a 3D form of bar chart or histogram. The multiple series 3D bar charts can be used for data sets with 3 variables (x,y, z)
Often the clarity of presentation can be reduced if the presentation is too crowded.

Multiple Series 3D Bar Charts

Stacked ordered area chart is geared towards showing rank change. Use it instead of a stacked area chart when you want to show the change of order over time. The inner categories are connected by ribbons across the columns to help you visually see how the rank changes across the columns.
A similar visualization type is the sorted stream graph

Stacked Ordered Area Chart

A Bubble timeline is a way to display a set of events or items on a timeline with a variable displayed as the the are size of the bubbles. In essence the bubble timeline is a compound data visualization, of a scaled timeline and a proportional area chart.

Bubble Timeline

A Sorted Stream Graph is area graph which is displaced around a central axis, resulting in a flowing, organic shape – but it is sorted instead of stacked.

Sorted Stream Graph

A candlestick chart is a style of bar-chart used to describe price movements of a security, derivative, or currency for a designated span of time. Each bar represents the range of price movement over a given time interval. 
It is most often used in technical analysis of equity and currency price patterns. They appear superficially similar to box plots, but are unrelated.
The dataset for a candlestick chart contains low, high, open and close values. The high and low values are visualized as the top and bottom of each stick, where the open and close values are reflected in the square inside.

Candlestick Chart

The line chart’s fraternal twin. Line charts display three or more points in time while slope charts display exactly two points in time.
Defined by Edward Tufte in his 1983 book The Visual Display of Quantitative Information, this type of chart is useful for seeing (referred to the first example below):

the hierarchy of the countries in both 1970 and 1979 [the order of the countries]
the specific numbers associated with each country in each of those years [the data value next to their names]
how each country’s numbers changed over time [each country’s slope]
how each country’s rate of change compares to the other countries’ rates of change [the slopes compared with one another]
any notable deviations in the general trend (notice Britain in the above example) [aberrant slopes]

Slope Chart

The Polar Area chart is similar to a usual pie chart, except sectors are equal angles and differ rather in how far each sector extends from the center of the circle. The polar area diagram is used to plot cyclic phenomena (e.g., count of deaths by month).

Polar Area Chart

Renko charts are excellent in projecting support and resistance levels. Bricks are drawn equal in size for a known value.A brick is drawn in the direction of the prior move but only if prices move by a minimum amount.If prices change by a predetermined amount or more, a new brick is drawn.If prices change by less than a predetermined amount, the new price is ignored.

Renko chart

A Sparkline is a small intense, simple, word-sized graphic with typographic resolution. Sparklines mean that graphics are no longer cartoonish special occasions with captions and boxes, but rather sparkline graphics can be everywhere a word or number can be: embedded in a sentence, table, headline, map, spreadsheet, graphic. Data graphics should have the resolution of typography. (Edward Tufte, Beautiful Evidence, 46-63.)
A Win-loss Sparkline only shows whether each value is positive or negative, whereas a Sparkline shows how high or low each value is.

Win-loss Sparkline

Layered area chart is basically multiple area charts layered by either making use of transparency or perspective. It can be used instead of a line graph with multiple graphs to compare development or trend over time.
The visualization may cause some issues in readability when overlapping.

Layered Area Chart

A stepped line graph (also called step chart) is a chart similar to a line graph, but with the line forming a series of steps between data points. A stepped line chart can be useful when you want to show the changes that occur at irregular intervals. For example, price rise in milk products, petrol, tax rate, interest rates, etc.

Stepped Line Graph

Alluvial diagrams are a type of flow diagram originally developed to represent changes in network structure over time. In allusion to both their visual appearance and their emphasis on flow, alluvial diagrams are named after alluvial fans that are naturally formed by the soil deposited from streaming water.
Variables are assigned to vertical axes that are parallel. Values are represented with blocks on each axis. The height of a block represents the size of the cluster and the height of a stream field represents the size of the components contained in both blocks connected by the stream field.
Alluvial diagram is a variant of the Parallel Sets but for categorical variables and often to display trends over time and phases.

Alluvial Diagram

Radial Area Chart is a variation of Area Chart. An area chart displays graphically quantitive data. It is based on the line chart. The area between axis and line are commonly emphasized with colors, textures and hatchings. Whereas area charts are used to represent cumulated totals using numbers or percentages over time, Radial Area Chart can be also used to display categories instead.

Radial Area Chart

Bumps charts are designed for exploring changes in rank over time.

Bump Chart

A three-dimensional scatter plot is like a scatter plot, but with g three variables.Provided that x, y, and z or f(x, y) are real numbers, the graph can be represented as dots in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system. It is typically drawn on a two-dimensional page or screen using perspective methods (isometric or perspective),  so that one of the dimensions appears to be coming out of the page.

3D Scatter Plot

A fan chart is a chart that joins a line graph for observed past data, and a range area chart for future predictions.
Predictions are shown as ranges for possible values of future data together with a line showing a central estimate or most likely value for the future outcomes. As predictions become increasingly uncertain the further into the future one goes, these forecast ranges spread out, creating distinctive wedge or “fan” shapes, hence the term. Alternative forms of the chart can also include uncertainty for past data, such as preliminary data that is subject to revision.
Read more about fan charts here

Fan Chart (Time Series)

扫码体验小程序

数据可视化 | vis.zone

主要功能 / 时间趋势

折线图或折线图是一种图表,它将信息显示为由直线段连接的一系列称为“标记”的数据点。
它类似于散点图,不同之处在于测量点是按其x轴值排序的(通常按其x轴值排序),并与直线段连接。折线图显示特定数据如何以相等的时间间隔更改。
折线图类似于样条图形,但样条图形在点之间绘制一条曲线,而不是直线。

折线图

条形图是带有矩形条形图的图表,条形图的长度与它们表示的值成正比。图表的一个轴显示要比较的特定类别,另一个轴表示离散值。
条形图提供分类数据的直观表示。分类数据是将数据分组为离散的组,如一年中的月份、年龄组、鞋码和动物。这些类别通常是定性的。图表上的条形图可以按任意顺序排列。
另请参阅:水平条形图

条形图(垂直)

面积图或面积图基本上是线条图,线条下面的区域用颜色或纹理填充。与折线图一样,面积图也用来表示一段时间内量化值的发展。它还可以用来比较两个或更多类别,类似于堆积面积图。
面积图通常用于显示一段时间内的总体趋势,而不是特定值。

面积图

一种复合数据可视化类型,将缩放的时间线与面积图、折线图或类似图相结合,以显示发展情况。它有助于用事件或原因来解释发展中的巨大变化。事件通常用锚定在时间线上的标签来可视化。

发展历程

热图是一种数据可视化类型,其中包含在矩阵中的各个值通过不同的颜色显示。术语“热点图”最初是由软件设计师Cormac Kinney在1991年引入的,用来描述2D显示,描述实时金融市场信息,尽管类似的可视化已经存在了一个多世纪。
热图可用于可视化多个变量之间的方差,以显示相关模式
分形映射和树形映射通常都使用相似的颜色编码系统来表示层次结构中变量所取的值。这个词也被用来表示它的主题应用,如科洛普斯地图。
许多人还错误地将热图称为大合唱地图,因为“地图”这个词具有误导性。但是,热图在地理边界内包括不同的阴影或图案,以显示感兴趣变量的比例,而热图的着色并不对应于地理边界。

热图

漏斗图用于显示精简的数据;漏斗中的每个切片代表一个过滤掉数据的进程。最后一个漏斗承载的值是整个过程的最终结果。
漏斗图将值显示为总比例为100%的递减比例。区域的大小由作为所有值总和的百分比的系列值确定。任何漏斗都由称为头部(或底部)的较高部分和称为颈部的较低部分组成。
理想情况下,漏斗图显示了一个从100%开始,以较低的百分比结束的过程,在该过程中,在哪些阶段以多大的速率发生落差是值得注意的。如果图表还与研究数据相结合,这意味着对销售或订单履行流程的每个步骤损失了多少项目进行量化测量,则漏斗图说明了流程中最大的瓶颈所在。

漏斗图

时间轴按时间顺序显示事件列表。一些时间线按比例工作,而其他时间线则简单地按顺序显示事件。主要目的是随着时间的推移交流与时间相关的信息,用于分析或直观地呈现历史的故事或视图。

时间表

它的功能与普通条形图相同,但从视觉上看,它是由一条从x轴锚定的线和末端的一个点组成的,用来标记值。
棒棒糖图表通常声称与正常的条形图相比很有用,如果您要处理大量的值,并且当这些值都很高时,例如在80%-90%的范围内(100%),棒棒糖图表就很有用。然后,一大组高柱在视觉上就会显得咄咄逼人。
该图表还有一些不太好的特点:
棒棒糖末端的圆心标记数值,但是圆心的位置很难判断,与条形的直线边缘相比不精确,圆的一半延伸到它所代表的值之外,这就使其不准确了。
相关图表类型包括哑铃形图,该图通过突出显示两个值之间的差异,将重点放在两个值之间的跨度上。

棒棒糖图

迷你图是一个小的、强烈的、简单的、文字大小的图形,具有排版分辨率。迷你图意味着图形不再是带有标题和方框的卡通特殊场合,而是迷你图可以出现在单词或数字的任何地方:嵌入到句子、表格、标题、地图、电子表格和图形中。数据图形应具有排版的分辨率。(爱德华·塔夫特,美丽的证据,46-63。)

迷你线条

样条图类型是折线图,它绘制通过系列中每个数据点的拟合曲线。折线图显示特定数据如何以相等的时间间隔更改。

样条图

迷你图是一种小的、强烈的、简单的、文字大小的图形,具有排版分辨率。迷你图意味着图形不再是带有标题和方框的卡通特殊场合,而是迷你图可以出现在单词或数字的任何地方:嵌入到句子、表格、标题、地图、电子表格和图形中。数据图形应具有排版的分辨率。(爱德华·塔夫特,美丽的证据,46-63。)
柱状迷你图与经典迷你图基本相同,不同之处在于它使用柱状图/条形图而不是线条。

柱迷你图

时间线按时间顺序显示事件列表。在缩放的时间线中,事件根据事件之间的实际时间距离按比例排列。主要目的是随着时间的推移交流与时间相关的信息,用于分析或直观地呈现历史的故事或视图。

缩放时间轴

将数据的分布与普通直方图的理论分布进行比较可能非常困难,因为较小的频率由较大的频率主导,很难感知直方图条和曲线之间的差异模式。因此,约翰·图基在1971年推出了吊根图(又称图基吊根图),以解决这些问题。在这种可视化中,通过“悬挂”理论曲线上的观测结果可以更容易地进行比较,这样就可以通过与水平轴的比较而不是与倾斜曲线的比较来看到差异。正如在根图中一样,垂直轴被缩放到频率的平方根,以便引起人们对分布尾部的差异的注意。
他说:
它是直方图和帕累托图概念的变体,它以一种简单的方式将观测和预测结合在一起,其中折线图显示数据在不断变化。

悬根图

泡沫图表是一种显示三维数据的图表。每个实体及其关联数据的三元组(v1,v2,v3)被绘制为一个磁盘,该磁盘通过磁盘的xy位置表示两个vi值,并通过其大小表示第三个vi值。泡沫图表可以促进对社会、经济、医学和其他科学关系的理解。泡沫图表可以被认为是散点图的变体,在散点图中,数据点被气泡取代。

散点气泡图

使用三维条形图或直方图绘制多个数据集非常有用。多系列三维条形图可用于具有3个变量(x,y,z)的数据集。
如果演示文稿太拥挤,通常会降低演示文稿的清晰度。

三维条形图

堆叠有序面积图适用于显示等级变化。当您想要显示顺序随时间的变化时,请使用它,而不是简单的堆叠面积图。内部类别通过横跨各列的带状连接在一起,以帮助您直观地查看各列之间的排名变化情况。
一种类似的可视化类型是排序流图

堆叠面积图

泡沫时间轴是一种在时间轴上显示一组事件或项目的方式,时间轴上的变量显示为气泡的弧大小。本质上,泡沫时间轴是一种复合的数据可视化,由缩放的时间轴和比例面积图组成。

气泡时间轴

排序流图是围绕中心轴偏移的面积图,从而形成流动的有机形状-但它是排序的,而不是堆叠的。

排序流图

烛台图是一种用于描述证券、衍生品或货币在指定时间范围内的价格变动的条形图样式。每条线代表给定时间间隔内的价格变动范围。
它最常用于股票和货币价格模式的技术分析。它们表面上看起来与盒子图相似,但并不相关。
烛台图表的数据集包含低、高、打开和关闭值。最高和最低值显示为每根棍子的顶部和底部,其中打开和关闭值反映在内部的正方形中。

烛台图

折线图的孪生兄弟。折线图显示三个或更多个时间点,而坡度图正好显示两个时间点。
Edward Tufte在他1983年的著作The Visual Display of Quantitional Information中定义,这种类型的图表对于查看很有用(参见下面的第一个示例):

1970年和1979年的国家等级[国家秩序]
每一年与每个国家相关的具体数字[其名称旁边的数据值]
每个国家的数字是如何随着时间的推移而变化的[每个国家的斜率]
每个国家的变化率与其他国家的变化率的比较情况[彼此比较的斜率]
总趋势中任何显著的偏离(请注意上例中的英国)[反常斜率]

坡度图表

极地面积图类似于通常的饼形图,不同之处在于扇区是等角度的,并且每个扇区从圆中心延伸的距离不同。极区图用于绘制循环现象(例如,按月计算的死亡人数)。

极地面积图

Renko图表在预测支撑位和阻力位方面非常出色。砖块的大小与已知的值相等。砖块按照上一次移动的方向绘制,但只有在价格变动最小的情况下。如果价格变化预定数量或更多,则绘制一块新的砖块。如果价格变化小于预定数量,则忽略新的价格。

仁科图

迷你图是一种小的、强烈的、简单的、文字大小的图形,具有排版分辨率。迷你图意味着图形不再是带有标题和方框的卡通特殊场合,而是迷你图可以出现在单词或数字的任何地方:嵌入到句子、表格、标题、地图、电子表格和图形中。数据图形应具有排版的分辨率。(爱德华·塔夫特,美丽的证据,46-63。)
输赢的迷你图只显示每个值是正数还是负数,而迷你图则显示每个值的高或低。

输赢迷你图

分层面积图基本上是利用透明度或透视进行分层的多个面积图。它可以用来代替具有多个图表的折线图,以比较一段时间内的发展或趋势。
重叠时,可视化可能会导致可读性方面的一些问题。

分层面积图

阶梯式折线图(也称为阶梯图)是一种类似于折线图的图表,但线在数据点之间形成了一系列阶梯。当您想要显示不规则间隔发生的变化时,阶梯式折线图很有用。比如奶制品涨价,汽油涨价,税率涨价,利率涨价等等。

阶梯图

冲积图是一种流程图,最初开发的目的是表示网络结构随时间的变化。冲积图以流水沉积的土壤自然形成的冲积扇命名,既有直观的外观,又有对流动的强调。
变量被指定给平行的垂直轴。值由每个轴上的块表示。挡路的高度表示簇的大小,流场的高度表示由流场连接的两个块中包含的组件的大小。
冲积图是两个平行集合的变体,但用于分类变量,并经常显示随时间和阶段的趋势。

冲积图

径向面积图是面积图的变体。面积图以图形方式显示定量数据。它是以折线图为基础的。轴和线之间的区域通常用颜色、纹理和阴影来强调。面积图用于使用数字或百分比表示一段时间内的累计总数,而径向面积图也可用于显示类别。

径向面积图

颠簸图是为探索排名随时间的变化而设计的。

凹凸图

三维散点图类似于散点图,但具有三个变量,假设x,y,z或f(x,y)为实数,则该图可以表示为三维笛卡尔坐标系中的点。它通常使用透视方法(等轴测或透视)绘制在二维页面或屏幕上,因此其中一个维度似乎是从页面中出来的。

三维散点图

扇形图是一种将观察到的过去数据的折线图和未来预测的范围面积图结合在一起的图表。
预测显示为未来数据的可能值的范围,以及一条显示未来结果的中心估计或最有可能值的线条。随着人们对未来的预测变得越来越不确定,这些预测范围扩展开来,形成了独特的楔形或“扇形”形状,因此有了这个术语。图表的替代形式还可以包括过去数据的不确定性,例如需要修订的初步数据。
单击此处阅读有关粉丝排行榜的更多信息

扇形图(时间序列)