Data visualization | vis.zone

Graph Family / Plot

A compound data vizulisation type, combining a scaled timeline with an area chart, a line graph or similar to show the development. It is useful to explain big changes in the development with events or causes. The events are typically visualized with labels anchored to the timeline.

Development & Causes

A sparkline is a small intense, simple, word-sized graphic with typographic resolution. Sparklines mean that graphics are no longer cartoonish special occasions with captions and boxes, but rather sparkline graphics can be everywhere a word or number can be: embedded in a sentence, table, headline, map, spreadsheet, graphic. Data graphics should have the resolution of typography. (Edward Tufte, Beautiful Evidence, 46-63.)

Sparkline

The Spline chart type is a Line graph that plots a fitted curve through each data point in a series. Line Charts show how a particular data changes at equal intervals of time.

Spline Graph

A violin plot is a method of plotting numeric data. It is a box plot with a rotated kernel density plot on each side. The violin plot is similar to box plots, except that they also show the probability density of the data at different values. Typically violin plots will include a marker for the median of the data and a box indicating the interquartile range, as in standard box plots.

Violin Plot

A bubble chart is a type of chart that displays three dimensions of data. Each entity with its triplet (v1, v2, v3) of associated data is plotted as a disk that expresses two of the vi values through the disk’s xy location and the third through its size. Bubble charts can facilitate the understanding of social, economical, medical, and other scientific relationships. Bubble charts can be considered a variation of the scatter plot, in which the data points are replaced with bubbles.

Bubble Chart

In descriptive statistics, a boxplot is a convenient way of graphically depicting groups of numerical data through their quartiles. A box plot displays median, higher/lower quartiles and maximum/minimum.  Outliers may be plotted as individual points. The spacings between the different parts of the box indicate the degree of dispersion (spread) and skewness in the data, and show outliers. Box plots can be drawn either horizontally or vertically.
The violin plot is similar to boxplots, except that they also show the probability density of the data at different values.

Boxplot

A trendline is a line that is drawn over pivot highs or under pivot lows to show the general course or tendency of something. Trendlines are a visual representation of support and resistance in any time frame.

Trendline

The opposite diagram can be used to display two set of opposites in a horizontal and vertical axis using Cartesian coordinates.
The data or items are displayed as a collection of points, each having the value of two variables determining the position on the horizontal axis and the value of the other variable determining the position on the vertical axis. In many ways it is similar to the scatter plot.
The values can be data driven, but it is often used for conceptual purposes by displaying opposites of an issue on a relative scale.

Opposite Diagram

A Bubble timeline is a way to display a set of events or items on a timeline with a variable displayed as the the are size of the bubbles. In essence the bubble timeline is a compound data visualization, of a scaled timeline and a proportional area chart.

Bubble Timeline

The hive plot is a rational visualization method for drawing networks. Nodes are mapped to and positioned on radially distributed linear axes — this mapping is based on network structural properties. Edges are drawn as curved links. Simple and interpretable.
The purpose of the hive plot is to establish a new baseline for visualization of large networks — a method that is both general and tunable and useful as a starting point in visually exploring network structure.

Hive Plot

A scatter plot is a type of mathematical diagram using Cartesian coordinates to display values for two variables for a set of data. The data is displayed as a collection of points, each having the value of one variable determining the position on the horizontal axis and the value of the other variable determining the position on the vertical axis.

Scatter Plot

Cluster analysis or clustering is the task of grouping a set of objects in such a way that objects in the same group (called a cluster) are more similar (in some sense or another) to each other than to those in other groups (clusters). It is a main task of exploratory data mining, and a common technique for statistical data analysis, used in many fields, including machine learning, pattern recognition, image analysis, information retrieval, and bioinformatics.

Cluster Analysis

A Bullet Graph is a variation of a Bar Graph. Seemingly inspired by the traditional thermometer charts and progress bars found in many dashboards, the bullet graph serves as a replacement for dashboard gauges and meters. Bullet graphs were developed to overcome the fundamental issues of gauges and meters: they typically display too little information, require too much space, and are cluttered with useless and distracting decoration.

Bullet Graph

A phase diagram in physical chemistry, engineering, mineralogy, and materials science is a type of chart used to show conditions at which thermodynamically distinct phases can occur at equilibrium. Common components of a phase diagram are lines of equilibrium or phase boundaries, which refer to lines that mark conditions under which multiple phases can coexist at equilibrium. Phase transitions occur along lines of equilibrium.

Phase Diagram

Dumbbell dot plots — dot plots with two or more series of data — are an alternative to the clustered bar chart or slope chart.
A dumbbell dot plot can be used to visualize two or three different points in time, or to triangulate different viewpoints (e.g., one dot for Republicans and another dot for Democrats, or one dot for principals and another dot for teachers).

Dumbbell Plot

Layered area chart is basically multiple area charts layered by either making use of transparency or perspective. It can be used instead of a line graph with multiple graphs to compare development or trend over time.
The visualization may cause some issues in readability when overlapping.

Layered Area Chart

Taylor diagrams (Taylor, 2001) provide a way of graphically summarizing how closely a pattern (or a set of patterns) matches observations. The similarity between two patterns is quantified in terms of their correlation, their centered root-mean-square difference and the amplitude of their variations (represented by their standard deviations). These diagrams are especially useful in evaluating multiple aspects of complex models or in gauging the relative skill of many different models (e.g., IPCC, 2001).

Taylor diagram

Radial Area Chart is a variation of Area Chart. An area chart displays graphically quantitive data. It is based on the line chart. The area between axis and line are commonly emphasized with colors, textures and hatchings. Whereas area charts are used to represent cumulated totals using numbers or percentages over time, Radial Area Chart can be also used to display categories instead.

Radial Area Chart

Bumps charts are designed for exploring changes in rank over time.

Bump Chart

Hexagonal Binning is another way to manage the problem of having to many points that start to overlap. Hexagonal binning plots density, rather than points. Points are binned into gridded hexagons and distribution (the number of points per hexagon) is displayed using either the color or the area of the hexagons.This technique was first described in 1987 (D.B.Carr et al. Scatterplot Matrix Techniques for large N, Journal of the American Statistical Association, No.389 pp 424-436).
There are many reasons for using hexagons instead of squares for binning a 2D surface as a plane. The most evident is that hexagons are more similar to circle than square. This translates in more efficient data aggregation around the bin center. This can be seen by looking at some particular properties of hexagons and, especially, of the hexagonal tessellation.

Hexagonal Binning

Radial Line Graph is a part of radial graphs that takes data and render it as collection of data points wrapped around a circle. It is also mapping a list of categories from the minimum to the maximum of the extent of the chart. Radial Line Graph is rendered using a collection of straight lines connecting data points.

Radial Line Graph

A Contour Plot is a graphic representation of the relationships among three numeric variables in two dimensions. Two variables are for X and Y axes, and a third variable Z is for contour levels. The contour levels are plotted as curves; the area between curves can be color coded to indicate interpolated values.
The contour plot is an alternative to a 3-D surface plot.

Contour Plot

In addition to the Ternary Plot, you will also find the Ternary Contour Plot. These plots can be used for example to chart the response of an independent variable to changes in a mixture of three components.

Ternary Contour Plot

A bagplot is a method in robust statistics for visualizing two-dimensional statistical data. The bagplot allows one to visualize the location, spread, skewness, and outliers of the data set. The bagplot consists of three nested polygons, called the “bag”, the “fence”, and the “loop”. The bagplot is sometimes defined as the multidimensional (bivariate) version of the box plot.

Bagplot

A ternary plot is a barycentric plot on three variables which sum to a constant. It graphically depicts the ratios of the three variables as positions in an equilateral triangle. It is used in physical chemistry, petrology, mineralogy, metallurgy, and other physical sciences to show the compositions of systems composed of three species.

Ternary Plot

A fan chart is a chart that joins a line graph for observed past data, and a range area chart for future predictions.
Predictions are shown as ranges for possible values of future data together with a line showing a central estimate or most likely value for the future outcomes. As predictions become increasingly uncertain the further into the future one goes, these forecast ranges spread out, creating distinctive wedge or “fan” shapes, hence the term. Alternative forms of the chart can also include uncertainty for past data, such as preliminary data that is subject to revision.
Read more about fan charts here

Fan Chart (Time Series)

A Waterfall Plot is a three-dimensional plot in which multiple curves of data, typically spectra, are displayed simultaneously. Typically the curves are staggered both across the screen and vertically, with ‘nearer’ curves masking the ones behind. The result is a series of “mountain” shapes that appear to be side by side. The waterfall plot is often used to show how two-dimensional information changes over time or some other variable such as rpm.
Not to be confused with the similarly named Waterfall Chart.

Waterfall Plot

A three-dimensional Stream Graph is the graph of a function f(x, y) of two variables, or the graph of a relationship g(x, y, z) among three variables.Provided that x, y, and z or f(x, y) are real numbers, the graph can be represented as a planar or curved surface in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system. A three-dimensional graph is typically drawn on a two-dimensional page or screen using perspective methods, so that one of the dimensions appears to be coming out of the page.

Three-dimensional Stream Graph

The spiral histogram also called a condegram is a histogram , but with a timeline along a spiral shape. The spiral design makes it possible to compare cycles, but keeping the continuous timeline along the spiral.

Spiral Histogram

扫码体验小程序

数据可视化 | vis.zone

图形分类 / 小块图

一种复合数据可视化类型,将缩放的时间线与面积图、折线图或类似图相结合,以显示发展情况。它有助于用事件或原因来解释发展中的巨大变化。事件通常用锚定在时间线上的标签来可视化。

发展历程

迷你图是一个小的、强烈的、简单的、文字大小的图形,具有排版分辨率。迷你图意味着图形不再是带有标题和方框的卡通特殊场合,而是迷你图可以出现在单词或数字的任何地方:嵌入到句子、表格、标题、地图、电子表格和图形中。数据图形应具有排版的分辨率。(爱德华·塔夫特,美丽的证据,46-63。)

迷你线条

样条图类型是折线图,它绘制通过系列中每个数据点的拟合曲线。折线图显示特定数据如何以相等的时间间隔更改。

样条图

小提琴曲线图是绘制数字数据的一种方法。这是一个箱形图,两边各有一个旋转的内核密度图。小提琴图与盒图类似,不同之处在于它们还显示了不同值下数据的概率密度。通常,小提琴曲线图将包括一个用于数据中值的标记和一个指示四分位数范围的框,就像在标准的框图中一样。

小提琴图

泡沫图表是一种显示三维数据的图表。每个实体及其关联数据的三元组(v1,v2,v3)被绘制为一个磁盘,该磁盘通过磁盘的xy位置表示两个vi值,并通过其大小表示第三个vi值。泡沫图表可以促进对社会、经济、医学和其他科学关系的理解。泡沫图表可以被认为是散点图的变体,在散点图中,数据点被气泡取代。

散点气泡图

在描述性统计中,盒图是一种方便的方式,可以通过四分位数以图形方式描述一组数字数据。框图显示中位数、高/低四分位数和最大/最小值。*异常值可以绘制为单个点,框的不同部分之间的间距表示数据中的离散度(Swide)和偏斜度,并显示异常值。框图可以水平绘制,也可以垂直绘制。
小提琴曲线图与盒子曲线图相似,不同之处在于它们还显示了数据在不同值的平均概率密度。

箱线图

趋势线是在轴心高点上方或轴心低点下方绘制的一条线,用来显示某事的大致进程或趋势。趋势线是任何时间范围内支撑位和阻力位的直观表示。

趋势线

相反的图表可以用笛卡尔坐标在水平轴和垂直轴上显示两组对立面。
数据或项目被显示为点的集合,每个点具有确定在水平轴上的位置的两个变量的值和确定在垂直轴上的位置的另一个变量的值。在很多方面,它与美国的散布图相似。
这些值可以是数据驱动的,但它通常用于概念目的,方法是在相对比例上显示问题的对立面。

象限图

泡沫时间轴是一种在时间轴上显示一组事件或项目的方式,时间轴上的变量显示为气泡的弧大小。本质上,泡沫时间轴是一种复合的数据可视化,由缩放的时间轴和比例面积图组成。

气泡时间轴

蜂窝图是绘制网络的一种合理的可视化方法。将节点映射到径向分布的线性轴并将其定位在其上-此映射基于网络结构属性。边绘制为曲线连接。简单易懂。
蜂窝图的目的是为大型网络的可视化建立新的基线-一种既通用又可调的方法,作为直观探索网络结构的起点很有用。

蜂窝图

散点图是一种使用笛卡尔坐标显示一组数据的两个变量的值的数学图表。数据被显示为点的集合,每个点具有确定在水平轴上的位置的一个变量的值和确定在垂直轴上的位置的另一个变量的值。

散点图

群集分析或群集是对一组对象进行分组的任务,使得同一组(称为群集)中的对象彼此之间比其他组(群集)中的对象更相似(在某种意义上或另一种意义上)。它是探索性数据挖掘的主要任务,也是一种常用的统计数据分析技术,广泛应用于机器学习、模式识别、图像分析、信息检索和生物信息学等领域。

聚类分析

项目符号图是条形图的变体。似乎是受到了许多仪表盘上传统的温度计图表和进度条的启发,项目符号图表取代了仪表盘上的量规和仪表。开发项目符号图是为了克服仪表和仪表的基本问题:它们通常显示的信息太少,需要太多空间,而且到处都是无用和令人分心的装饰。

项目符号图表

物理化学、工程学、矿物学和材料科学中的相图是一种用来显示热力学上不同的相可以在平衡状态下出现的条件的图表。相图的常见组成部分是平衡线或相边界,它们指的是标记多个相可以在平衡时共存的条件的线。相变沿着平衡线发生。

相位图

哑铃形点图-具有两个或两个以上数据系列的点图-是一种替代传统的聚类条形图或斜率图的方法。
哑铃形点图可用于显示两个或三个不同的时间点,或对不同的视点进行三角测量(例如,一个点代表共和党人,另一个点代表民主党人,或者一个点代表校长,另一个点代表教师)。

哑铃线

分层面积图基本上是利用透明度或透视进行分层的多个面积图。它可以用来代替具有多个图表的折线图,以比较一段时间内的发展或趋势。
重叠时,可视化可能会导致可读性方面的一些问题。

分层面积图

泰勒图(Taylor,2001)提供了一种以图形方式总结一个模式(或一组模式)与观测结果匹配程度的方法。两个模式之间的相似性通过它们的相关性、它们的中心均方根差和它们的变化幅度(由它们的标准差表示)来量化。这些图表在评估复杂模型的多个方面或衡量许多不同模型的相对技能时特别有用(例如,IPCC,2001)。

泰勒图

径向面积图是面积图的变体。面积图以图形方式显示定量数据。它是以折线图为基础的。轴和线之间的区域通常用颜色、纹理和阴影来强调。面积图用于使用数字或百分比表示一段时间内的累计总数,而径向面积图也可用于显示类别。

径向面积图

颠簸图是为探索排名随时间的变化而设计的。

凹凸图

六边形入库是管理许多开始重叠的点问题的另一种方法。六边形装箱图的密度,而不是点。点被放入网格的六边形中,并且使用六边形的颜色或面积来显示分布(每个六边形的点数)。该技术于1987年首次描述(D.B.Carr等人)。大N的散点图矩阵技术,美国统计协会杂志,第389页,第424-436页)。
使用六边形而不是正方形将二维曲面绑定为平面的原因有很多。最明显的是六边形与其说是正方形,不如说是圆形。这可以转化为围绕仓位中心更有效的数据聚合。这可以通过观察六边形的一些特殊属性,特别是六边形镶嵌的一些特殊属性来看出。

六边形分档图

径向折线图是径向图形的一部分,它获取数据并将其呈现为环绕圆的数据点的集合。它还从图表范围的最小到最大映射类别列表。径向折线图是使用连接数据点的直线集合呈现的。

径向线图

等高线图是二维中三个数值变量之间关系的图形表示。两个变量分别用于X轴和Y轴,第三个变量Z用于等高线级别。等高线标高绘制为曲线;曲线之间的区域可以进行颜色编码,以指示内插值。
等高线绘图是三维曲面绘图的替代方案。

等高线图

除了三元等值线图之外,您还会发现三元等值线图。例如,这些曲线图可以用来绘制自变量对三组分混合物变化的响应。

三元等高线图

袋图是稳健统计中的一种方法,用于可视化二维统计数据。袋图使人们可以直观地看到数据集的位置、扩散、偏度和离群值。袋子图由三个嵌套多边形组成,分别称为“袋子”、“栅栏”和“环”。袋图有时被定义为盒子图的多维(二维)版本。

布袋

三元图是关于三个变量的重心图,它们之和为一个常数。它以图形方式将三个变量的比率描绘为等边三角形中的位置。它在物理化学、岩石学、矿物学、冶金和其他物理科学中被用来显示由三个物种组成的系统的组成。

三元曲线图

扇形图是一种将观察到的过去数据的折线图和未来预测的范围面积图结合在一起的图表。
预测显示为未来数据的可能值的范围,以及一条显示未来结果的中心估计或最有可能值的线条。随着人们对未来的预测变得越来越不确定,这些预测范围扩展开来,形成了独特的楔形或“扇形”形状,因此有了这个术语。图表的替代形式还可以包括过去数据的不确定性,例如需要修订的初步数据。
单击此处阅读有关粉丝排行榜的更多信息

扇形图(时间序列)

瀑布曲线图是同时显示多条数据曲线(通常是光谱)的三维曲线图。通常情况下,曲线在屏幕上和垂直方向上都是交错的,“较近”的曲线掩盖了后面的曲线。结果是一系列看起来并排的“山”形状。瀑布图通常用于显示二维信息如何随时间或某些其他变量(如rpm)变化。
不要与同名的瀑布图混淆。

瀑布图

三维流图是两个变量的函数f(x,y)的图形,或者是三个变量之间的关系g(x,y,z)的图形,只要x,y和z或f(x,y)是实数,则该图形可以表示为三维笛卡尔坐标系中的平面或曲面。三维图形通常是使用透视方法在二维页面或屏幕上绘制的,因此其中一个维度似乎是从页面中出来的。

三维流图

螺旋直方图也称为Condegram,是直方图,但时间线沿着螺旋形状。螺旋设计使比较周期成为可能,但保持沿螺旋的连续时间线。

螺旋直方图