Data visualization | vis.zone

Output Shape / bar

A bar chart is a chart with rectangular bars with lengths proportional to the values that they represent.  One axis of the chart shows the specific categories being compared, and the other axis represents a discrete value.
Bar charts provide a visual presentation of categorical data. Categorical data is a grouping of data into discrete groups, such as months of the year, age group, shoe sizes, and animals. These categories are usually qualitative. Bars on the chart may be arranged in any order.
See also: Horizontal bar chart

Bar Chart (vertical)

A progress bar is a graphical control element used to visualize the progression of an extended operation, such as a download, file transfer, or installation. Sometimes, the graphic is accompanied by a textual representation of the progress in a percent or quantitative format.

Progress Bar

A bar chart is a chart with rectangular bars with lengths proportional to the values that they represent.  One axis of the chart shows the specific categories being compared, and the other axis represents a discrete value.
Bar charts provide a visual presentation of categorical data. Categorical data is a grouping of data into discrete groups, such as months of the year, age group, shoe sizes, and animals. These categories are usually qualitative. Bars on the chart may be arranged in any order.
The horizontal bar chart is the same as a column chart or a vertical bar chart only the x-axis and y-axis are switched. Horizontal bar charts have some advantages compared to the vertical bar charts: Labels are easier to display and with a big dataset they tend to work better in a narrow layout such as mobile view.

Bar Chart (Horizontal)

Stacked Bar Chart is neither Multi-set Bar Chart nor simple Bar Chart. Stacked Bar Chart is multiple datasets on top of each other in order to show how the larger category is divided into the smaller categories and their relations to the total amount. 
Basically, they can be divided into two types:
1) Simple Stacked Bar Chart displays total value of the bar is all the segment values added together.
2) 100% Stack Bar Chart displays part to whole relationship in each group.

Stacked Bar Chart

Grouped Bar Charts are used when two or more data sets are displayed side-by-side and grouped together under categories on the same axis. Basically, it’s the most simple bar chart with two or more graphs.

Grouped Bar Chart

A dot plot or dot chart is a statistical chart consisting of data points plotted on a fairly simple scale, typically using filled in circles. There are two common versions of the dot chart. The first is described by Leland Wilkinson as a graph that has been used in hand-drawn (pre-computer era) graphs to depict distributions. The other version is described by William Cleveland as an alternative to the bar chart, in which dots are used to depict the quantitative values (e.g. counts) associated with categorical variables.

Dot Plot

A histogram is a chart that groups numeric data into bins, displaying the bins as segmented columns. They’re used to depict the distribution of a dataset: how often values fall into ranges. The histogram was first introduced by Karl Pearson.
To construct a histogram, the first step is to bin the range of values, and then count how many values fall into each interval. A rectangle is drawn with height proportional to the count and width equal to the bin size, so that rectangles abut each other.

Histogram

Bar chart on a map is a combination of a map with locations and a bar chart. It is useful when presenting geospatial data along values. The location could represent a city, a country or any other kind of location. Like a bar chart, the height or volume of each bar is proportional to the values it represents.

Bar Chart on a Map

A Sparkline is a small intense, simple, word-sized graphic with typographic resolution. Sparklines mean that graphics are no longer cartoonish special occasions with captions and boxes, but rather sparkline graphics can be everywhere a word or number can be: embedded in a sentence, table, headline, map, spreadsheet, graphic. Data graphics should have the resolution of typography. (Edward Tufte, Beautiful Evidence, 46-63.)
A Column Sparkline is basically same as the classic sparkline, except that it uses columns/bars instead of lines.

Column Sparkline

Comparing the distribution of data with a theoretical distribution from an ordinary histogram can be difficult because small frequencies are dominated by the larger frequencies and it is hard to perceive the pattern of differences between the histogram bars and the curve. Therefore John Tukey introduced the Hanging Rootogram in 1971 (also called Tukey’s Hanging Rootogram) in order to solve these problems. In this visualization the comparison is made easier by ‘hanging’ the observed results from the theoretical curve, so that the discrepancies are seen by comparison with the horizontal axis rather than a sloping curve. As in the rootogram, the vertical axis is scaled to the square-root of the frequencies so as to draw attention to discrepancies in the tails of the distribution.
 
It is a variation of the concept of histograms and Pareto charts by combining observed and predicted in a simple way where the line charts display that the data is continuously changing.

Hanging Rootogram

A Gantt chart is a type of bar chart, that visualises various categories into time series. Gantt charts illustrate the start and finish time in time period blocks. 
A Gantt chart is often used in project management as one of the most popular and useful ways of showing activities (tasks or events) displayed against time. On the left of the chart is a list of the activities and along the top is a suitable time scale. Each activity is represented by a bar; the position and length of the bar reflects the start date, duration and end date of the activity.
It is similar to the Column Range with the difference of indicating time.

Gantt Chart

A waterfall chart helps in understanding the cumulative effect of sequentially introduced positive or negative values. The waterfall chart is also known as a flying bricks chart or Mario chart due to the apparent suspension of columns (bricks) in mid-air. Normally used for understanding how an initial value is affected by a series of intermediate positive or negative values.
Not to be confused with the likely named Waterfall Plot.

Waterfall Chart

A triangle bar chart is a variation of bar chart where triangles are used instead of rectangles. Height or volume of each triangle is proportional to the values it represents. The triangle bars can be plotted vertically or horizontally.
A bar graph is a chart that uses either horizontal or vertical bars to show comparisons among categories. One axis of the chart shows the specific categories being compared, and the other axis represents a discrete value.

Triangle Bar Chart

The Column Range displays a range of data by plotting two Y values per data point. Each Y value used is drawn as the upper, and lower bounds of a column. Sometimes range charts are referred as “floating” column charts. Some data may look very nice and are easily understood in this form, in which the column floats in the chart, spanning a region from a minimum value to a maximum value.

Column Range

A Butterfly Chart (also called Tornado Chart) is a type of bar chart where two sets of data series are displayed side by side. It gives a quick glance of the difference between two groups with same parameters. It is also possible to stack/place two bars on each side (for example, ‘developed countries’ and ‘developing countries’) to give a further division of categories.
The main use of the butterfly chart is comparison of two data sets sharing the same parameters.
It has a lot of similarity with the population pyramid, but where the population pyramid is only for population data, the butterfly chart has a broader use as a comparison chart.

Butterfly Chart

It can be helpful to plot multiple datasets using a 3D form of bar chart or histogram. The multiple series 3D bar charts can be used for data sets with 3 variables (x,y, z)
Often the clarity of presentation can be reduced if the presentation is too crowded.

Multiple Series 3D Bar Charts

A Radial/Circular Bar Chart simply refers to a typical Bar Chart displayed on a polar coordinate system, instead of a cartesian system.It is used to show comparisons among categories by using a circular shape.

Radial Bar Chart

A Radial or Circular Histogram is used for displaying the circular data, which involves the wrapping of the usual histogram around a circle. Each bar in the histogram is centered at the middle of the group period with the length of the bar proportional to the frequency in the group.

Radial Histogram

A population pyramid, also called an age pyramid or age picture diagram, is a graphical illustration that shows the distribution of various age groups in a population, which forms the shape of a pyramid when the population is growing. It is also used in ecology to determine the overall age distribution of a population; an indication of the reproductive capabilities and likelihood of the continuation of a species.

Population Pyramid

A Pareto chart, named after Vilfredo Pareto, is a type of chart that contains both bars and a line graph, where individual values are represented in descending order by bars, and the cumulative total is represented by the line. The purpose of the Pareto chart is to highlight the most important among a (typically large) set of factors.

Pareto Chart

A Bullet Graph is a variation of a Bar Graph. Seemingly inspired by the traditional thermometer charts and progress bars found in many dashboards, the bullet graph serves as a replacement for dashboard gauges and meters. Bullet graphs were developed to overcome the fundamental issues of gauges and meters: they typically display too little information, require too much space, and are cluttered with useless and distracting decoration.

Bullet Graph

A candlestick chart is a style of bar-chart used to describe price movements of a security, derivative, or currency for a designated span of time. Each bar represents the range of price movement over a given time interval. 
It is most often used in technical analysis of equity and currency price patterns. They appear superficially similar to box plots, but are unrelated.
The dataset for a candlestick chart contains low, high, open and close values. The high and low values are visualized as the top and bottom of each stick, where the open and close values are reflected in the square inside.

Candlestick Chart

The Span Chart displays a range of data by plotting two Y values per data point. Each Y value used is drawn as the upper, and lower bounds of a column/bar/cylinder. Sometimes range charts are referred as “floating” column/bar charts. Some data may look very nice and are easily understood in this form, in which the column floats in the chart, spanning a region from a minimum value to a maximum value.

Span Chart

A curved bar chart is a variation of bar chart where curved areas are used instead of rectangles. Height of each curved area is proportional to the values it represents. The curved areas can be plotted vertically or horizontally. One axis of the chart shows the specific categories being compared, and the other axis represents a discrete value.
Curved bar charts are often seen in modern infographics, but are criticized for being confusing and inaccurate compared to a normal bar chart, as the curved area actually only has one dimension, which is the height.

Curved Bar Chart

A Mekko chart (also called marimekko chart) is a two-dimensional stacked chart. In addition to the varying segment heights of a regular stacked chart, a Mekko chart also has varying column widths. Column widths are scaled such that the total width matches the desired chart width.

Marimekko Chart

The spiral histogram also called a condegram is a histogram , but with a timeline along a spiral shape. The spiral design makes it possible to compare cycles, but keeping the continuous timeline along the spiral.

Spiral Histogram

扫码体验小程序

数据可视化 | vis.zone

展示形状 / 条形

条形图是带有矩形条形图的图表,条形图的长度与它们表示的值成正比。图表的一个轴显示要比较的特定类别,另一个轴表示离散值。
条形图提供分类数据的直观表示。分类数据是将数据分组为离散的组,如一年中的月份、年龄组、鞋码和动物。这些类别通常是定性的。图表上的条形图可以按任意顺序排列。
另请参阅:水平条形图

条形图(垂直)

进度条是一种图形控制元素,用于可视化扩展操作(如下载、文件传输或安装)的进度。有时,图形会附带百分比或定量格式的进度文本表示。

进度条

条形图是带有矩形条形图的图表,条形图的长度与它们表示的值成正比。图表的一个轴显示要比较的特定类别,另一个轴表示离散值。
条形图提供分类数据的直观表示。分类数据是将数据分组为离散的组,如一年中的月份、年龄组、鞋码和动物。这些类别通常是定性的。图表上的条形图可以按任意顺序排列。
水平条形图与柱状图或垂直条形图相同,只是x轴和y轴切换。与垂直条形图相比,水平条形图有一些优势:标签更容易显示,而且由于数据集较大,它们往往在狭小的布局(如移动视图)中工作得更好。

水平条形图

堆叠条形图既不是多集条形图,也不是简单条形图。堆积条形图是多个数据集叠加在一起,以显示较大的类别如何划分为较小的类别以及它们与总金额的关系。
基本上可以分为两类:
1)简单堆积条形图显示条形图的总值是所有线段值加在一起。
2)100%堆积条形图显示每组的部分到整体关系。

堆叠条形图

当两个或多个数据集并排显示并在同一轴上的类别下分组时,将使用分组条形图。基本上,它是最简单的条形图,有两个或两个以上的图表。

分组条形图

点图或点图是由以相当简单的比例绘制的数据点组成的统计图,通常使用填充的圆圈。点图有两个常见版本。第一种是由利兰·威尔金森(Leland Wilkinson)描述的,它是一种在手绘(前计算机时代)图表中用来描述分布的图表。另一个版本被威廉·克利夫兰描述为条形图的替代品,条形图中的点被用来描述与分类变量相关的量化值(例如计数)。

点图

直方图是将数字数据分组到存储箱中的图表,将存储箱显示为分段的列。它们被用来描述数据集的分布:值落入范围的频率。直方图最早是由卡尔·皮尔森(Karl Pearson)引入的。
要构建直方图,第一步是将值范围装箱,然后计算每个区间有多少值。绘制的矩形的高度与计数成正比,宽度与箱体大小相等,因此矩形彼此邻接。

直方图

地图上的条形图是地图和位置以及条形图的完美组合。它在沿值显示地理空间数据时非常有用。该位置也可以代表一个城市、一个国家或任何其他类型的位置。就像条形图一样,每条线的高度或体积与其所代表的值成正比。

条形地图

迷你图是一种小的、强烈的、简单的、文字大小的图形,具有排版分辨率。迷你图意味着图形不再是带有标题和方框的卡通特殊场合,而是迷你图可以出现在单词或数字的任何地方:嵌入到句子、表格、标题、地图、电子表格和图形中。数据图形应具有排版的分辨率。(爱德华·塔夫特,美丽的证据,46-63。)
柱状迷你图与经典迷你图基本相同,不同之处在于它使用柱状图/条形图而不是线条。

柱迷你图

将数据的分布与普通直方图的理论分布进行比较可能非常困难,因为较小的频率由较大的频率主导,很难感知直方图条和曲线之间的差异模式。因此,约翰·图基在1971年推出了吊根图(又称图基吊根图),以解决这些问题。在这种可视化中,通过“悬挂”理论曲线上的观测结果可以更容易地进行比较,这样就可以通过与水平轴的比较而不是与倾斜曲线的比较来看到差异。正如在根图中一样,垂直轴被缩放到频率的平方根,以便引起人们对分布尾部的差异的注意。
他说:
它是直方图和帕累托图概念的变体,它以一种简单的方式将观测和预测结合在一起,其中折线图显示数据在不断变化。

悬根图

甘特图是一种条形图,它将各种类别可视化成时间序列。甘特图以时间段为单位说明开始和结束时间。
在项目管理中,甘特图通常被用作显示与时间同步显示的活动(任务或事件)的最流行和最有用的方式之一。图表左侧是活动列表,顶部是合适的时间刻度。每个活动由条形图表示;条形图的位置和长度反映了活动的开始日期、持续时间和结束日期。
与列范围类似,只是指示时间不同。

甘特图

瀑布图有助于理解顺序引入的正值或负值的累积效应。瀑布图也被称为飞砖图或马里奥图,因为柱子(砖)明显悬浮在半空中。通常用于了解一系列中间正值或负值对初始值的影响。
不要与可能命名的瀑布情节混淆。

瀑布图

三角形条形图是条形图的变体,其中使用三角形代替矩形。每个三角形的高度或体积与其表示的值成正比。三角形条形图可以垂直或水平绘制。
条形图是一种使用水平或垂直条形图来显示类别之间的比较的图表。图表的一个轴显示正在比较的特定类别,另一个轴表示离散值。

三角形条形图

列范围通过为每个数据点绘制两个Y值来显示数据范围。使用的每个Y值都绘制为列的上下限。有时范围图被称为“浮动”柱状图。有些数据可能看起来非常好,在这种形式下很容易理解,在这种形式中,列在图表中浮动,跨越了从最小值到最大值的区域。

范围图

蝴蝶图(也称为龙卷风图)是一种条形图,其中两组数据序列并排显示。它提供了具有相同参数的两组之间的差异的快速一瞥。还可以在两边(例如,“发达国家”和“发展中国家”)堆叠/放置两个栏,以进一步划分类别。
蝶形图的主要用途是比较共享相同参数的两个数据集。
虽然它与人口金字塔有很多相似之处,但在人口金字塔只用于人口数据的地方,蝴蝶图作为对比图的用途更广泛。

蝴蝶图

使用三维条形图或直方图绘制多个数据集非常有用。多系列三维条形图可用于具有3个变量(x,y,z)的数据集。
如果演示文稿太拥挤,通常会降低演示文稿的清晰度。

三维条形图

径向/圆形条形图只是指在极坐标系统上显示的典型条形图,而不是笛卡尔系统,它是用圆形来显示类别之间的比较。

径向条形图

径向或圆形直方图用于显示圆形数据,这涉及到将通常的直方图绕圆。直方图中的每个条形位于组周期的中间,条形的长度与组中的频率成正比。

径向直方图

人口金字塔,又称年龄金字塔或年龄图,是一种图形化的图示,显示了人口中各个年龄段的分布,当人口增长时,人口金字塔的形状就形成了金字塔的形状。在生态学中,它也被用来确定一个种群的总体年龄分布;指示一个物种的繁殖能力和延续的可能性。

人口金字塔

以Vilfredo Pareto命名的帕累托图表是一种同时包含条形图和折线图的图表,其中单个值由条形图以降序表示,累计总数由线条表示。帕累托图的目的是突出一组(通常是大的)因素中最重要的一个。

帕累托图

项目符号图是条形图的变体。似乎是受到了许多仪表盘上传统的温度计图表和进度条的启发,项目符号图表取代了仪表盘上的量规和仪表。开发项目符号图是为了克服仪表和仪表的基本问题:它们通常显示的信息太少,需要太多空间,而且到处都是无用和令人分心的装饰。

项目符号图表

烛台图是一种用于描述证券、衍生品或货币在指定时间范围内的价格变动的条形图样式。每条线代表给定时间间隔内的价格变动范围。
它最常用于股票和货币价格模式的技术分析。它们表面上看起来与盒子图相似,但并不相关。
烛台图表的数据集包含低、高、打开和关闭值。最高和最低值显示为每根棍子的顶部和底部,其中打开和关闭值反映在内部的正方形中。

烛台图

跨度图通过绘制每个数据点的两个Y值来显示数据范围。使用的每个Y值都绘制为柱/条/圆柱体的上下限。有时范围图被称为“浮动”柱状图/条形图。有些数据可能看起来非常好,在这种形式下很容易理解,在这种形式中,列在图表中浮动,跨越了从最小值到最大值的区域。

跨度图

弯曲条形图是条形图的变体,其中使用弯曲区域而不是矩形。每个弯曲区域的高度与其表示的值成比例。曲线区域可以垂直或水平绘制,图表的一条轴显示正在比较的具体类别,另一条轴代表离散值。
弯曲的条形图经常出现在现代信息图表中,但与正常的条形图相比,曲线条形图被批评为令人困惑和不准确,因为弯曲的区域实际上只有一个维度,那就是高度。

曲线条形图

Mekko图(也称为Marimekko图)是二维堆积图。除了常规堆叠图表的不同区段高度外,Mekko图表还具有不同的列宽。对列宽进行缩放,以使总宽度与所需的图表宽度相匹配。

Marimekko 海图

螺旋直方图也称为Condegram,是直方图,但时间线沿着螺旋形状。螺旋设计使比较周期成为可能,但保持沿螺旋的连续时间线。

螺旋直方图