Data visualization | vis.zone

Output Shape / dot

A dot plot or dot chart is a statistical chart consisting of data points plotted on a fairly simple scale, typically using filled in circles. There are two common versions of the dot chart. The first is described by Leland Wilkinson as a graph that has been used in hand-drawn (pre-computer era) graphs to depict distributions. The other version is described by William Cleveland as an alternative to the bar chart, in which dots are used to depict the quantitative values (e.g. counts) associated with categorical variables.

Dot Plot

In function it is identical to a normal bar chart. But visually it consists of a line anchored from the x axis and a dot at the end to mark the value.
The lollipop chart is often claimed to be useful compared to a normal bar chart, if you are dealing with a large number of values and when the values are all high, such as in the 80-90% range (out of 100%). Then a large set of tall columns can be visually aggressive.
The chart also has some less fortunate features:
The center of the circle at the end of the lollipop marks the value, but the location of the center is difficult to judge, making it imprecise compared to the straight edge of a bar, and half of the circle extends beyond the value that it represents, making it inaccurate.
Related chart types includes the dumbbell plot which focus on the span between two values, by highlighting the difference.

Lollipop Chart

An Arc Diagram uses a one-dimensional layout of nodes with circular arcs to represent connections. Nodes are placed along a single line and arcs are used to display links between the nodes. The thickness of the lines can display frequency between the nodes.
The Arc Diagram can have a similar purpose as the Chord Diagram and the Network Visualisation. But it may not be as effective to show structure in two dimensions as it serves the purpose to easy identify correlation.

Arc Diagram

The Matrix Diagram shows the relationship between items. At each intersection a relationship is either absent or present. It then gives information about the relationship, such as its strength, the roles played by various individuals or measurements. It can be shaped differently depending on how many groups must be compared. Six differently shaped matrices are possible: L, T, Y, X, C, R and roof-shaped.

Matrix Diagram

A trendline is a line that is drawn over pivot highs or under pivot lows to show the general course or tendency of something. Trendlines are a visual representation of support and resistance in any time frame.

Trendline

A Pie Chart Map is simply a combination of a Pie Chart data visualization and a map. It is used to visualize location and numerical proportion in a simple way. Sometimes you will see a combination of both Pie Chart, Map and Bubble Chart. Where the size of the Pie Chart circle allows one more dimension to the visualization.

Pie Chart Map

A dot density map is a map type that uses a dot or another symbol to show the presence of a feature or phenomenon.
In a dot density map, areas with many dots indicate high concentrations of values for the chosen field and fewer dots indicate lower concentrations.
Each dot on a dot-density map can either represent one single recording of a phenomenon (one-to-one) or represent a given quantity of it (one-to-many).

Dot Density Map

The opposite diagram can be used to display two set of opposites in a horizontal and vertical axis using Cartesian coordinates.
The data or items are displayed as a collection of points, each having the value of two variables determining the position on the horizontal axis and the value of the other variable determining the position on the vertical axis. In many ways it is similar to the scatter plot.
The values can be data driven, but it is often used for conceptual purposes by displaying opposites of an issue on a relative scale.

Opposite Diagram

A Roof Shaped Matrix Diagram is one of six forms of Matrix Diagram. A Matrix Diagram shows the relationship between items. At each intersection, a relationship is either absent or present. It then gives information about the relationship, such as its strength, the roles played by various individuals or measurements. It can be shaped differently depending on how many groups must be compared. The other five differently shaped matrixes are: L, T, Y, X, C and R.

Matrix Diagram (Roof Shaped)

A Sociogram is a graphic representation of social links that a person has. It is a graph drawing that plots the structure of interpersonal relations in a group situation. A sociogram can be drawn on the basis of many different criteria: Social relations, channels of influence, lines of communication etc.

Sociogram

A scatter plot is a type of mathematical diagram using Cartesian coordinates to display values for two variables for a set of data. The data is displayed as a collection of points, each having the value of one variable determining the position on the horizontal axis and the value of the other variable determining the position on the vertical axis.

Scatter Plot

Cluster analysis or clustering is the task of grouping a set of objects in such a way that objects in the same group (called a cluster) are more similar (in some sense or another) to each other than to those in other groups (clusters). It is a main task of exploratory data mining, and a common technique for statistical data analysis, used in many fields, including machine learning, pattern recognition, image analysis, information retrieval, and bioinformatics.

Cluster Analysis

Network Visualisation (also called Network Graph) is often used to visualise complex relationships between a huge amount of elements. A network visualisation displays undirected and directed graph structures. This type of visualization illuminates relationships between entities. Entities are displayed as round nodes and lines show the relationships between them. The vivid display of network nodes can highlight non-trivial data discrepancies that may be otherwise be overlooked.

Network Visualisation

Dumbbell dot plots — dot plots with two or more series of data — are an alternative to the clustered bar chart or slope chart.
A dumbbell dot plot can be used to visualize two or three different points in time, or to triangulate different viewpoints (e.g., one dot for Republicans and another dot for Democrats, or one dot for principals and another dot for teachers).

Dumbbell Plot

Taylor diagrams (Taylor, 2001) provide a way of graphically summarizing how closely a pattern (or a set of patterns) matches observations. The similarity between two patterns is quantified in terms of their correlation, their centered root-mean-square difference and the amplitude of their variations (represented by their standard deviations). These diagrams are especially useful in evaluating multiple aspects of complex models or in gauging the relative skill of many different models (e.g., IPCC, 2001).

Taylor diagram

Bumps charts are designed for exploring changes in rank over time.

Bump Chart

Y-Matrix is one of six forms of Matrix Diagram. A Matrix Diagram shows the relationship between items. At each intersection a relationship is either absent or present. It then gives information about the relationship, such as its strength, the roles played by various individuals or measurements. It can be shaped differently depending on how many groups must be compared. The other five differently shaped matrices are: L, T, X, C, R and roof-shaped.

Matrix Diagram (Y-Shaped)

A three-dimensional scatter plot is like a scatter plot, but with g three variables.Provided that x, y, and z or f(x, y) are real numbers, the graph can be represented as dots in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system. It is typically drawn on a two-dimensional page or screen using perspective methods (isometric or perspective),  so that one of the dimensions appears to be coming out of the page.

3D Scatter Plot

A bagplot is a method in robust statistics for visualizing two-dimensional statistical data. The bagplot allows one to visualize the location, spread, skewness, and outliers of the data set. The bagplot consists of three nested polygons, called the “bag”, the “fence”, and the “loop”. The bagplot is sometimes defined as the multidimensional (bivariate) version of the box plot.

Bagplot

A ternary plot is a barycentric plot on three variables which sum to a constant. It graphically depicts the ratios of the three variables as positions in an equilateral triangle. It is used in physical chemistry, petrology, mineralogy, metallurgy, and other physical sciences to show the compositions of systems composed of three species.

Ternary Plot

扫码体验小程序

数据可视化 | vis.zone

展示形状 /

点图或点图是由以相当简单的比例绘制的数据点组成的统计图,通常使用填充的圆圈。点图有两个常见版本。第一种是由利兰·威尔金森(Leland Wilkinson)描述的,它是一种在手绘(前计算机时代)图表中用来描述分布的图表。另一个版本被威廉·克利夫兰描述为条形图的替代品,条形图中的点被用来描述与分类变量相关的量化值(例如计数)。

点图

它的功能与普通条形图相同,但从视觉上看,它是由一条从x轴锚定的线和末端的一个点组成的,用来标记值。
棒棒糖图表通常声称与正常的条形图相比很有用,如果您要处理大量的值,并且当这些值都很高时,例如在80%-90%的范围内(100%),棒棒糖图表就很有用。然后,一大组高柱在视觉上就会显得咄咄逼人。
该图表还有一些不太好的特点:
棒棒糖末端的圆心标记数值,但是圆心的位置很难判断,与条形的直线边缘相比不精确,圆的一半延伸到它所代表的值之外,这就使其不准确了。
相关图表类型包括哑铃形图,该图通过突出显示两个值之间的差异,将重点放在两个值之间的跨度上。

棒棒糖图

弧形图使用带有圆弧的节点的一维布局来表示连接。节点沿一条线放置,圆弧用于显示节点之间的链接。线条的粗细可以显示节点之间的频率。
弧形图可以与弦图和网络可视化具有类似的用途。但是,在两个维度上展示结构可能没有容易识别相关性的目的那么有效。

弧形图

矩阵图显示了项目之间的关系。在每个交叉口,关系要么不存在,要么存在。然后,它给出了关于这种关系的信息,比如它的强度,各种个人或衡量标准所扮演的角色。根据必须比较的组的数量,可以对其进行不同的塑造。六种不同形状的矩阵是可能的:L、T、Y、X、C、R和屋顶形状。

矩阵图

趋势线是在轴心高点上方或轴心低点下方绘制的一条线,用来显示某事的大致进程或趋势。趋势线是任何时间范围内支撑位和阻力位的直观表示。

趋势线

饼图地图是饼图数据可视化和地图的简单组合。它被用来以一种简单的方式可视化位置和数值比例。有时你会看到饼图、地图和泡沫的组合。其中饼图圆圈的大小允许可视化多一个维度。

饼图地图

点密度地图是一种地图类型,它使用点或其他符号来显示要素或现象的存在。
在点密度图中,点较多的区域表示所选场的值高度集中,而点较少的区域表示浓度较低。
点密度图上的每个点既可以表示现象的一次记录(一对一),也可以表示给定数量的现象(一对多)。

点密度地图

相反的图表可以用笛卡尔坐标在水平轴和垂直轴上显示两组对立面。
数据或项目被显示为点的集合,每个点具有确定在水平轴上的位置的两个变量的值和确定在垂直轴上的位置的另一个变量的值。在很多方面,它与美国的散布图相似。
这些值可以是数据驱动的,但它通常用于概念目的,方法是在相对比例上显示问题的对立面。

象限图

屋顶状矩阵图是矩阵图的六种形式之一。矩阵图显示了项目之间的关系。在每个交叉口,要么没有关系,要么有关系。然后,它给出了关于这种关系的信息,比如它的强度,各种个人或衡量标准所扮演的角色。根据必须比较的组的数量,可以对其进行不同的塑造。其他五个不同形状的矩阵是:L、T、Y、X、C和R。

矩阵图(屋顶形状)

社会图是一个人拥有的社会关系的图形表示。它是一种图表,描绘了群体情境中的人际关系结构。社会图可以根据许多不同的标准绘制:社会关系、影响渠道、沟通渠道等。

社交图

散点图是一种使用笛卡尔坐标显示一组数据的两个变量的值的数学图表。数据被显示为点的集合,每个点具有确定在水平轴上的位置的一个变量的值和确定在垂直轴上的位置的另一个变量的值。

散点图

群集分析或群集是对一组对象进行分组的任务,使得同一组(称为群集)中的对象彼此之间比其他组(群集)中的对象更相似(在某种意义上或另一种意义上)。它是探索性数据挖掘的主要任务,也是一种常用的统计数据分析技术,广泛应用于机器学习、模式识别、图像分析、信息检索和生物信息学等领域。

聚类分析

网络可视化(也称为网络图)通常用于可视化海量元素之间的复杂关系。网络可视化显示无向和有向图结构。这种类型的可视化说明了实体之间的关系。实体显示为圆形节点,线条显示它们之间的关系。网络节点的生动显示可以突出否则可能被忽略的不平凡的数据差异。

网络可视化

哑铃形点图-具有两个或两个以上数据系列的点图-是一种替代传统的聚类条形图或斜率图的方法。
哑铃形点图可用于显示两个或三个不同的时间点,或对不同的视点进行三角测量(例如,一个点代表共和党人,另一个点代表民主党人,或者一个点代表校长,另一个点代表教师)。

哑铃线

泰勒图(Taylor,2001)提供了一种以图形方式总结一个模式(或一组模式)与观测结果匹配程度的方法。两个模式之间的相似性通过它们的相关性、它们的中心均方根差和它们的变化幅度(由它们的标准差表示)来量化。这些图表在评估复杂模型的多个方面或衡量许多不同模型的相对技能时特别有用(例如,IPCC,2001)。

泰勒图

颠簸图是为探索排名随时间的变化而设计的。

凹凸图

Y矩阵是矩阵图的六种形式之一。矩阵图显示项目之间的关系。在每个交叉口,关系要么不存在,要么存在。然后,它给出了关于这种关系的信息,比如它的强度,各种个人或衡量标准所扮演的角色。根据必须比较的组的数量,可以对其进行不同的塑造。其他五个不同形状的矩阵是:L、T、X、C、R和屋顶形状。

矩阵图(Y形)

三维散点图类似于散点图,但具有三个变量,假设x,y,z或f(x,y)为实数,则该图可以表示为三维笛卡尔坐标系中的点。它通常使用透视方法(等轴测或透视)绘制在二维页面或屏幕上,因此其中一个维度似乎是从页面中出来的。

三维散点图

袋图是稳健统计中的一种方法,用于可视化二维统计数据。袋图使人们可以直观地看到数据集的位置、扩散、偏度和离群值。袋子图由三个嵌套多边形组成,分别称为“袋子”、“栅栏”和“环”。袋图有时被定义为盒子图的多维(二维)版本。

布袋

三元图是关于三个变量的重心图,它们之和为一个常数。它以图形方式将三个变量的比率描绘为等边三角形中的位置。它在物理化学、岩石学、矿物学、冶金和其他物理科学中被用来显示由三个物种组成的系统的组成。

三元曲线图