Data visualization | vis.zone

Target User / Scientist

Flow Maps in cartography can be defined as a mix of maps and Sankey diagrams, that show the movement of quantities from one location to another, such as the number of people travelling, the amount of goods being traded, or the number of packets in a network.
The width of the connections shows the quantity. Sometimes you flow maps with arrows to display the direction of the movement.
The most famous example of a flow map, is Minard’s map of Napoleon’s disastrous Russian campaign of 1812.

Flow Map

Comparing the distribution of data with a theoretical distribution from an ordinary histogram can be difficult because small frequencies are dominated by the larger frequencies and it is hard to perceive the pattern of differences between the histogram bars and the curve. Therefore John Tukey introduced the Hanging Rootogram in 1971 (also called Tukey’s Hanging Rootogram) in order to solve these problems. In this visualization the comparison is made easier by ‘hanging’ the observed results from the theoretical curve, so that the discrepancies are seen by comparison with the horizontal axis rather than a sloping curve. As in the rootogram, the vertical axis is scaled to the square-root of the frequencies so as to draw attention to discrepancies in the tails of the distribution.
 
It is a variation of the concept of histograms and Pareto charts by combining observed and predicted in a simple way where the line charts display that the data is continuously changing.

Hanging Rootogram

A topographic map is a detailed and accurate graphic representation of cultural and natural features on the ground. A topographic map is typically published as a map series, made up of two or more map sheets that combine to form the whole map. A contour line is a combination of two line segments that connect but do not intersect; these represent elevation on a topographic map.

Topographic Map

Similar to a regular square treemap, but convex polygons are used instead of rectangles e.g. a new hierarchical partition scheme, also called a polygonal partition, which uses convex polygons rather than just rectangles.
Treemaps display hierarchical (tree-structured) data as a set of nested polygons. Each branch of the tree is given a polygons, which is then tiled with smaller polygons representing sub-branches.
The use of Convex Treemaps compared to regular tree maps would be when you want to show grouping and realtions instead of the strict hierachical structure of a a normal treemap.

Convex treemap

It can be helpful to plot multiple datasets using a 3D form of bar chart or histogram. The multiple series 3D bar charts can be used for data sets with 3 variables (x,y, z)
Often the clarity of presentation can be reduced if the presentation is too crowded.

Multiple Series 3D Bar Charts

Cartograms distort the shape of geographic regions so that the area directly encodes a data variable. A common example is to redraw every country in the world sizing it proportionally to population or GDP. Can be done by circles, squares or distorted maps by manipulating the initial map.
Primarily used to visualize data related to countries, regions or states, for example votes in elections, population or income.

Cartogram

The opposite diagram can be used to display two set of opposites in a horizontal and vertical axis using Cartesian coordinates.
The data or items are displayed as a collection of points, each having the value of two variables determining the position on the horizontal axis and the value of the other variable determining the position on the vertical axis. In many ways it is similar to the scatter plot.
The values can be data driven, but it is often used for conceptual purposes by displaying opposites of an issue on a relative scale.

Opposite Diagram

A Sorted Stream Graph is area graph which is displaced around a central axis, resulting in a flowing, organic shape – but it is sorted instead of stacked.

Sorted Stream Graph

A Roof Shaped Matrix Diagram is one of six forms of Matrix Diagram. A Matrix Diagram shows the relationship between items. At each intersection, a relationship is either absent or present. It then gives information about the relationship, such as its strength, the roles played by various individuals or measurements. It can be shaped differently depending on how many groups must be compared. The other five differently shaped matrixes are: L, T, Y, X, C and R.

Matrix Diagram (Roof Shaped)

A hyperbolic tree defines a graph drawing method inspired by hyperbolic geometry.

Displaying hierarchical data as a tree suffers from visual clutter as the number of nodes per level can grow exponentially. For a simple binary tree, the maximum number of nodes at a level n is 2n, while the number of nodes for larger trees grows much more quickly. 
Drawing the tree as a node-link diagram thus requires exponential amounts of space to be displayed.

Hyperbolic Tree

The hive plot is a rational visualization method for drawing networks. Nodes are mapped to and positioned on radially distributed linear axes — this mapping is based on network structural properties. Edges are drawn as curved links. Simple and interpretable.
The purpose of the hive plot is to establish a new baseline for visualization of large networks — a method that is both general and tunable and useful as a starting point in visually exploring network structure.

Hive Plot

Parallel Sets are a new method for the visualization and interactive exploration of categorical data that shows data frequencies instead of the individual data points. The method is based on the axis layout of parallel coordinates, with boxes representing the categories and parallelograms between the axes showing the relations between categories.

Parallel Sets

A Sociogram is a graphic representation of social links that a person has. It is a graph drawing that plots the structure of interpersonal relations in a group situation. A sociogram can be drawn on the basis of many different criteria: Social relations, channels of influence, lines of communication etc.

Sociogram

The Polar Area chart is similar to a usual pie chart, except sectors are equal angles and differ rather in how far each sector extends from the center of the circle. The polar area diagram is used to plot cyclic phenomena (e.g., count of deaths by month).

Polar Area Chart

A streamgraph, or stream graph, is a type of stacked area graph which is displaced around a central axis, resulting in a flowing, organic shape. Streamgraphs were developed by Lee Byron.

Stream Graph

A phase diagram in physical chemistry, engineering, mineralogy, and materials science is a type of chart used to show conditions at which thermodynamically distinct phases can occur at equilibrium. Common components of a phase diagram are lines of equilibrium or phase boundaries, which refer to lines that mark conditions under which multiple phases can coexist at equilibrium. Phase transitions occur along lines of equilibrium.

Phase Diagram

A spiral heat map is a specific type of heat map designed for continuous comparable cycles like years or days. The spiral design makes it possible to compare the cycles, but keeping the continuous timeline along the spiral.

Spiral Heat Map

Network Visualisation (also called Network Graph) is often used to visualise complex relationships between a huge amount of elements. A network visualisation displays undirected and directed graph structures. This type of visualization illuminates relationships between entities. Entities are displayed as round nodes and lines show the relationships between them. The vivid display of network nodes can highlight non-trivial data discrepancies that may be otherwise be overlooked.

Network Visualisation

Polar chart displays multivariate data in the form of a two-dimensional chart of more than three variables represented on axes starting from the same point.

Polar Chart

Taylor diagrams (Taylor, 2001) provide a way of graphically summarizing how closely a pattern (or a set of patterns) matches observations. The similarity between two patterns is quantified in terms of their correlation, their centered root-mean-square difference and the amplitude of their variations (represented by their standard deviations). These diagrams are especially useful in evaluating multiple aspects of complex models or in gauging the relative skill of many different models (e.g., IPCC, 2001).

Taylor diagram

Radial Area Chart is a variation of Area Chart. An area chart displays graphically quantitive data. It is based on the line chart. The area between axis and line are commonly emphasized with colors, textures and hatchings. Whereas area charts are used to represent cumulated totals using numbers or percentages over time, Radial Area Chart can be also used to display categories instead.

Radial Area Chart

Radial Line Graph is a part of radial graphs that takes data and render it as collection of data points wrapped around a circle. It is also mapping a list of categories from the minimum to the maximum of the extent of the chart. Radial Line Graph is rendered using a collection of straight lines connecting data points.

Radial Line Graph

Isoline maps show a range of quantity. They show data as a third dimension on a map, making them good for mapping surface elevations or for weather data. Radar maps, temperature maps and rainfall maps are all isoline maps.

Isoline Map

A Contour Plot is a graphic representation of the relationships among three numeric variables in two dimensions. Two variables are for X and Y axes, and a third variable Z is for contour levels. The contour levels are plotted as curves; the area between curves can be color coded to indicate interpolated values.
The contour plot is an alternative to a 3-D surface plot.

Contour Plot

In addition to the Ternary Plot, you will also find the Ternary Contour Plot. These plots can be used for example to chart the response of an independent variable to changes in a mixture of three components.

Ternary Contour Plot

A range area chart is a variation of an area chart that lets you plot bands of data, such as Bollinger bands and weather patterns. Each point in the chart is specified by two y values.

Range Area Chart

A fan chart is a chart that joins a line graph for observed past data, and a range area chart for future predictions.
Predictions are shown as ranges for possible values of future data together with a line showing a central estimate or most likely value for the future outcomes. As predictions become increasingly uncertain the further into the future one goes, these forecast ranges spread out, creating distinctive wedge or “fan” shapes, hence the term. Alternative forms of the chart can also include uncertainty for past data, such as preliminary data that is subject to revision.
Read more about fan charts here

Fan Chart (Time Series)

A Waterfall Plot is a three-dimensional plot in which multiple curves of data, typically spectra, are displayed simultaneously. Typically the curves are staggered both across the screen and vertically, with ‘nearer’ curves masking the ones behind. The result is a series of “mountain” shapes that appear to be side by side. The waterfall plot is often used to show how two-dimensional information changes over time or some other variable such as rpm.
Not to be confused with the similarly named Waterfall Chart.

Waterfall Plot

A three-dimensional Stream Graph is the graph of a function f(x, y) of two variables, or the graph of a relationship g(x, y, z) among three variables.Provided that x, y, and z or f(x, y) are real numbers, the graph can be represented as a planar or curved surface in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system. A three-dimensional graph is typically drawn on a two-dimensional page or screen using perspective methods, so that one of the dimensions appears to be coming out of the page.

Three-dimensional Stream Graph

The structural formula of a chemical compound is a graphic representation of the molecular structure, showing how the atoms are arranged. The chemical bonding within the molecule is also shown, either explicitly or implicitly. Unlike chemical formulas, which have a limited number of symbols and are capable of only limited descriptive power, structural formulas provide a complete geometric representation of the molecular structure

Molecule Diagram

Radial Convergences are used to visualize relationships between entities. Entities are displayed as round nodes and lines show the relationships between them. It is similar to a network visualization but it is arranged in strict circular layout.

Radial Convergences

扫码体验小程序

数据可视化 | vis.zone

适用范围 / 科研

地图学中的流程图可以定义为地图和Sankey图的混合,这些图显示了数量从一个位置到另一个位置的移动,如出行人数、正在交易的货物数量或网络中的数据包数量。
连接的宽度显示了最大数量。有时,您可以使用箭头排列地图以显示移动的方向。
流程图最著名的例子是米纳德的1812年拿破仑灾难性的俄国战役的地图。

流动图

将数据的分布与普通直方图的理论分布进行比较可能非常困难,因为较小的频率由较大的频率主导,很难感知直方图条和曲线之间的差异模式。因此,约翰·图基在1971年推出了吊根图(又称图基吊根图),以解决这些问题。在这种可视化中,通过“悬挂”理论曲线上的观测结果可以更容易地进行比较,这样就可以通过与水平轴的比较而不是与倾斜曲线的比较来看到差异。正如在根图中一样,垂直轴被缩放到频率的平方根,以便引起人们对分布尾部的差异的注意。
他说:
它是直方图和帕累托图概念的变体,它以一种简单的方式将观测和预测结合在一起,其中折线图显示数据在不断变化。

悬根图

地形图是对地面文化和自然特征的详细和准确的图形表示。地形图通常发布为一系列地图,由两张或更多张地图组合而成,形成整个地图。等高线是连接但不相交的两条线段的组合;它们表示地形图上的高程。

地形图

与规则正方形树形图类似,但使用凸多边形而不是矩形,例如新的分层分区方案,也称为多边形分区,它使用凸多边形而不只是矩形。
树状图将分层(树形结构)数据显示为一组嵌套多边形。树的每个分支都被赋予一个多边形,然后用更小的多边形平铺,表示子分支。
当您想要显示分组和关系,而不是正常树映射的严格层次结构时,可以使用凸树映射而不是常规树映射。

凸树图

使用三维条形图或直方图绘制多个数据集非常有用。多系列三维条形图可用于具有3个变量(x,y,z)的数据集。
如果演示文稿太拥挤,通常会降低演示文稿的清晰度。

三维条形图

地图可以扭曲地理区域的形状,以便该区域直接对数据变量进行编码。一个常见的例子是根据人口或GDP的比例重新绘制世界上每个国家的规模。可以通过操纵初始贴图的圆形、正方形或扭曲的贴图来完成。
主要用于可视化与国家、地区或州相关的数据,例如选举、人口或收入中的选票。

统计图

相反的图表可以用笛卡尔坐标在水平轴和垂直轴上显示两组对立面。
数据或项目被显示为点的集合,每个点具有确定在水平轴上的位置的两个变量的值和确定在垂直轴上的位置的另一个变量的值。在很多方面,它与美国的散布图相似。
这些值可以是数据驱动的,但它通常用于概念目的,方法是在相对比例上显示问题的对立面。

象限图

排序流图是围绕中心轴偏移的面积图,从而形成流动的有机形状-但它是排序的,而不是堆叠的。

排序流图

屋顶状矩阵图是矩阵图的六种形式之一。矩阵图显示了项目之间的关系。在每个交叉口,要么没有关系,要么有关系。然后,它给出了关于这种关系的信息,比如它的强度,各种个人或衡量标准所扮演的角色。根据必须比较的组的数量,可以对其进行不同的塑造。其他五个不同形状的矩阵是:L、T、Y、X、C和R。

矩阵图(屋顶形状)

双曲树定义了一种受双曲几何启发的图形绘制方法。

将分层数据显示为树会受到视觉混乱的影响,因为每个级别的节点数可能会呈指数级增长。对于简单的二叉树,级别n的最大节点数是2n,而较大树的节点数增长要快得多。
因此,将树绘制为节点链接图需要显示指数量的空间。

双曲树图

蜂窝图是绘制网络的一种合理的可视化方法。将节点映射到径向分布的线性轴并将其定位在其上-此映射基于网络结构属性。边绘制为曲线连接。简单易懂。
蜂窝图的目的是为大型网络的可视化建立新的基线-一种既通用又可调的方法,作为直观探索网络结构的起点很有用。

蜂窝图

并行集是一种用于分类数据可视化和交互探索的新方法,它显示的是数据频率而不是单个数据点。该方法基于平行坐标的轴线布局,用方框表示类别,轴之间的平行四边形表示类别之间的关系。

平行集

社会图是一个人拥有的社会关系的图形表示。它是一种图表,描绘了群体情境中的人际关系结构。社会图可以根据许多不同的标准绘制:社会关系、影响渠道、沟通渠道等。

社交图

极地面积图类似于通常的饼形图,不同之处在于扇区是等角度的,并且每个扇区从圆中心延伸的距离不同。极区图用于绘制循环现象(例如,按月计算的死亡人数)。

极地面积图

流图或流图是一种围绕中心轴偏移的堆叠面积图,从而形成流动的有机形状。流记录仪是由李·拜伦发明的。

流图

物理化学、工程学、矿物学和材料科学中的相图是一种用来显示热力学上不同的相可以在平衡状态下出现的条件的图表。相图的常见组成部分是平衡线或相边界,它们指的是标记多个相可以在平衡时共存的条件的线。相变沿着平衡线发生。

相位图

螺旋热图是一种特定类型的热图,专为连续的可比较周期(如年或天)而设计。螺旋设计使比较周期成为可能,但保持沿螺旋的连续时间线。

螺旋热图

网络可视化(也称为网络图)通常用于可视化海量元素之间的复杂关系。网络可视化显示无向和有向图结构。这种类型的可视化说明了实体之间的关系。实体显示为圆形节点,线条显示它们之间的关系。网络节点的生动显示可以突出否则可能被忽略的不平凡的数据差异。

网络可视化

极线图以二维图表的形式显示多变量数据,该图表包含三个以上变量,这些变量表示在从同一点开始的轴上。

极线图

泰勒图(Taylor,2001)提供了一种以图形方式总结一个模式(或一组模式)与观测结果匹配程度的方法。两个模式之间的相似性通过它们的相关性、它们的中心均方根差和它们的变化幅度(由它们的标准差表示)来量化。这些图表在评估复杂模型的多个方面或衡量许多不同模型的相对技能时特别有用(例如,IPCC,2001)。

泰勒图

径向面积图是面积图的变体。面积图以图形方式显示定量数据。它是以折线图为基础的。轴和线之间的区域通常用颜色、纹理和阴影来强调。面积图用于使用数字或百分比表示一段时间内的累计总数,而径向面积图也可用于显示类别。

径向面积图

径向折线图是径向图形的一部分,它获取数据并将其呈现为环绕圆的数据点的集合。它还从图表范围的最小到最大映射类别列表。径向折线图是使用连接数据点的直线集合呈现的。

径向线图

等值线贴图显示一个数量范围。它们在地图上以第三维的形式显示数据,因此非常适合绘制表面高程或天气数据。雷达地图、温度地图和降雨地图都是等值线地图。

等值线图

等高线图是二维中三个数值变量之间关系的图形表示。两个变量分别用于X轴和Y轴,第三个变量Z用于等高线级别。等高线标高绘制为曲线;曲线之间的区域可以进行颜色编码,以指示内插值。
等高线绘图是三维曲面绘图的替代方案。

等高线图

除了三元等值线图之外,您还会发现三元等值线图。例如,这些曲线图可以用来绘制自变量对三组分混合物变化的响应。

三元等高线图

范围面积图是面积图的变体,它允许您绘制数据波段,如布林波段和天气模式。图表中的每个点由两个y值指定。

射程面积图

扇形图是一种将观察到的过去数据的折线图和未来预测的范围面积图结合在一起的图表。
预测显示为未来数据的可能值的范围,以及一条显示未来结果的中心估计或最有可能值的线条。随着人们对未来的预测变得越来越不确定,这些预测范围扩展开来,形成了独特的楔形或“扇形”形状,因此有了这个术语。图表的替代形式还可以包括过去数据的不确定性,例如需要修订的初步数据。
单击此处阅读有关粉丝排行榜的更多信息

扇形图(时间序列)

瀑布曲线图是同时显示多条数据曲线(通常是光谱)的三维曲线图。通常情况下,曲线在屏幕上和垂直方向上都是交错的,“较近”的曲线掩盖了后面的曲线。结果是一系列看起来并排的“山”形状。瀑布图通常用于显示二维信息如何随时间或某些其他变量(如rpm)变化。
不要与同名的瀑布图混淆。

瀑布图

三维流图是两个变量的函数f(x,y)的图形,或者是三个变量之间的关系g(x,y,z)的图形,只要x,y和z或f(x,y)是实数,则该图形可以表示为三维笛卡尔坐标系中的平面或曲面。三维图形通常是使用透视方法在二维页面或屏幕上绘制的,因此其中一个维度似乎是从页面中出来的。

三维流图

化合物的结构式是分子结构的图形表示,表明原子是如何排列的。分子内的化学键也被显式或隐式地显示出来。与化学式不同的是,化学式的符号数量有限,描述能力也有限,结构式提供了分子结构的完整几何表示

分子图

径向收敛用于可视化实体之间的关系。图元显示为圆形节点,线条显示它们之间的关系。它类似于网络可视化,但它是以严格的圆形布局排列的。

径向收敛

扫码体验小程序